Wearables - New Freedom

Wearables

New Freedom

Dominik Bärlocher
by Dominik Bärlocher
time to read: 7 minutes

Computers keep shrinking. They become faster and more powerful. The most recent trend: Wearables: Portable, small computers in the shape of glasses, wrist watches and sensor technology in clothing. Their development is just beginning. Time to have a look at this new tech.

The smartphone in your pocket is probably outdated. The devices of the future are called Google Glass – a pair of glasses that displays a wide array of data right in front of the wearer’s eye – or Smart Watch – wrist mounted devices that display data. Thus, text messages, e-mails and other features that users only know from a PC, a laptop or a mobile phone are being detached from their original devices and are modified to suit the human body.

Society hasn’t quite managed to reach the future yet. The fully functional heads-up-display in front of a wearer’s eye or the watch that performs all the operations of a laptop is still something right out of science fiction. Because up until now, Wearables are still gadgets. Nobody doubts, however, that the future of computers is moulded to the human body.

Still Just a Second Screen

Wearables that are available today are, more often than not, far from independent devices. Usually, they’re an extension to the mobile phone. This means that a text message is received by the phone and only displayed on the smart watch. Or the route to your destination is being calculated on the phone and displayed on Google Glass.

This is why the definition of what makes a wearable is a difficult one. Interaction-Design.org defines Wearables as miniature electronic devices that are worn by the bearer under, with or on top of clothing. Then there are the know-it-alls who claim that an analogue watch is also a wearable because it is able to calculate the time independently. Mathematician Edward O. Thorp believes that it was him and his colleague who invented the first wearable computer in 1961: A device the size of a packet of cigarettes that was supposed to help them cheat at roulette. Then there are those who think that the Seiko 06LC, the first mass-produced digital watch, was the first wearable computer.

Most recently, other Wearables are on the minds of users and industry. They run on operating systems like Android or the Samsung-built Tizen. They measure our pulse, show us our way, analyse our coordinates and our blood pressure. They’re high-tech devices that are working in unison with other technology and they’re supposed to help us, to improve ourselves in terms of sport, organisation or information. But all this can only happen in combination with a smart phone.

Categories, Classes and Conflict

As difficult as it is to define the term wearable it’s even more difficult to classify and categorize the devices.

Category Definition Examples
Smart Textile /
E-Textile
Clothing with integrated sensor technology OmSignal Shirt
SimpleSkin
Wearable MRI
Tracker Clips or wristbands that record the users’ activity. Occasionally, they include the recording of biometric data Samsung Gear Fit
Fitbit
Nike+ FuelBand
Jawbone Up
Usability Devices Devices that seek to aid users in their everyday lives Bose Bluetooth Headset Series 2
Google Glass

Because technology is subject to constant evolution, this table is not a complete one. It’s an aid to get into the world of Wearables. Because it is the technological evolution that will influence this table. It is highly likely that there will be categories added to this and others might be obsolete at some point. And new inventions could find their way into the third line.

Even today, the sorting into these three categories is difficult. Google Glass can be considered a Usability Device as well as a Tracker. Or Samsung’s Gear Fit falls into the categories of Usability, seeing as there’s a built-in watch and the ability to display messages as well as missed calls, or as Tracker because it has an integrated GPS feature. Therefore, the table has focused on the device’s main function. Gear Fit aims to record movement and Google Glass helps out in the users’ everyday lives.

Brian Moore, senior designer at Cubicle Ninjas, chose a different direction and grouped Wearables into two classes, based on the extent of their functionalities. His proposed classification is best displayed in a Venn diagram.

The division of Wearables into classes. Graphic: scip after Brian Moore

His main criterion is the technology and its functionality. Do Wearables such as the Nike FuelBand, the Fitbit or a Bluetooth Headset only have one use? Or do the devices like Google Glass, Samsung Gear or Samsung Gear Fit serve to expand the functionality of another device, the smartphone for example?

Advantages of the Missing Classification

Today, Wearables are still young. Neither technology nor application nor object have completely matured. Still, enthusiasts, developers and industry predict there being a big future for the small body mounted computers.

The lack of classification or categorization can lead to developers thinking outside of set paths, because those simply don’t exist. Currently, developers are enjoying a lot of liberty in this new area of app development, which will lead to leaps and bounds in development. Undoubtedly, there will be a categorization of apps sooner or later, which hopefully won’t hinder creativity.

About the Author

Dominik Bärlocher

Dominik Bärlocher has been working with IT subjects since 2006. The journalist relied on his affinity for all things IT during his tenures at news papers and benefited from it. At scip, he conducts OSINT researches and is an expert at information gathering.

Links

You need support in such a project?

Our experts will get in contact with you!

×
Passwordless Authentication

Passwordless Authentication

Tomaso Vasella

Data Markets

Data Markets

Marc Ruef

Transport Layer Security

Transport Layer Security

Andrea Hauser

Diversify AI

Diversify AI

Marisa Tschopp

You want more?

Further articles available here

You need support in such a project?

Our experts will get in contact with you!

You want more?

Further articles available here

Wearables - Neue Freiheit

Wearables

Neue Freiheit

Dominik Bärlocher
von Dominik Bärlocher
Lesezeit: 7 Minuten

Computer werden kleiner, schneller und leistungsfähiger. Die jüngsten Technologien sind Wearables: Tragbare, kleine Computer in Form von Brillen, Armbanduhren und Sensoren in Kleidung. Die Entwicklung dieser Geräte steht erst am Anfang. Zeit, einen Blick auf sie zu werfen.

Das Smartphone in der Hosentasche scheint veraltet. Die Geräte der Zukunft heissen Google Glass – eine Brille, die Daten direkt vor dem Auge anzeigt – oder Smart Watch – Uhren, die Daten auf dem Handgelenk anzeigen. So werden SMS, E-Mails und sonstige Features, die User bisher nur entweder auf dem Computer oder dem Handy zu sehen bekommen, von den separaten Geräten losgelöst und an den menschlichen Körper angepasst.

Ganz in der Zukunft angekommen ist die Gesellschaft aber noch nicht. Das voll funktionsfähige Heads-Up-Display vor dem Auge oder die Uhr, die sämtliche Funktionen eines Laptops übernimmt, ist nach wie vor etwas aus der Welt der Science-Fiction. Denn bisher sind Wearables noch als Spielereien, also Gadgets, angesehen. Niemand bezweifelt aber, dass die Computersysteme am Körper Zukunft haben, sei es nun der Endverbraucher oder die Industrie.

Bislang nur zweiter Bildschirm

Die Wearables, die heute auf dem Markt sind, sind meist aber gar keine eigenständigen Geräte. Vielfach handelt es sich um eine Erweiterung des Handys. Sprich: eine SMS wird auf dem Handy empfangen und lediglich auf der Smart Watch angezeigt. Oder die Route wird vom Handy berechnet aber auf Google Glass dargestellt.

Daher fällt auch die Definition, was denn ein Wearable genau ist, schwer. Interaction-Design.org definiert Wearables als miniature electronic devices that are worn by the bearer under, with or on top of clothing. Zu Deutsch: kleine elektronische Geräte die vom User unter, mit oder über der Kleidung getragen werden. Spitzfindige sind der Auffassung, dass auch mechanische Armbanduhren als Computer gelten, da sie selbständig die Zeit errechnen. Der Mathematiker Edward O. Thorp glaubt zu wissen, dass er und sein Kollege diejenigen seien, die im Jahre 1961 den ersten Wearable Computer erfunden haben: Ein Gerät von der Grösse einer Zigarettenpackung, das ihnen beim Betrug im Roulettespiel helfen sollte. Dann sind da noch jene, die meinen, dass die Seiko 06LC, die erste Digitaluhr auf dem breiten Markt, der erste Wearable Computer war.

In jüngster Zeit aber beschäftigen andere Wearables sowohl Nutzer wie auch die Industrie. Sie laufen unter anderem auf den Betriebssystemen Android oder dem Samsung-eigenen Tizen. Sie messen Puls, zeigen uns den Weg an, analysieren unseren Standort und unseren Blutdruck. Sie sind High-Tech Geräte, die mit dem Rest unserer Technologie zusammenarbeiten und dabei helfen sollen, uns sportlich, organisatorisch oder informationstechnisch zu bessern. Dies aber bisher nur in Kombination mit einem Smartphone.

Kategorien, Klassen und Konflikt

Die Einteilung der Wearables ist ebenso schwierig wie das eindeutige Bestimmen des Begriffs.

Kategorie Definition Beispiele
Smart Textile /
E-Textile
Kleidung mit integrierten Sensoren OmSignal Shirt
SimpleSkin
Wearable MRI
Tracker Clips oder Armbänder, welche die Aktivität des Trägers aufzeichnen. Teilweise erweitert durch die Aufzeichnung von Gesundheitsdaten Samsung Gear Fit
Fitbit
Nike+ FuelBand
Jawbone Up
Usability Devices Geräte, die als Hilfsmittel den Alltag erleichtern sollen Bose Bluetooth Headset Series 2
Google Glass

Da die Technologie sich stets weiterentwickelt dient diese Tabelle nicht als abschliessende Liste, sondern als Einteilungshilfe. Denn genau diese Weiterentwicklung ist es, die auch die Tabelle beeinflussen wird. Es werden wohl noch einige Kategorien hinzukommen, andere werden vielleicht wegfallen und neue Erfindungen könnten in der dritten Zeile Platz finden.

Schon heute fällt die Einteilung in diese Kategorien nicht einfach. Die Datenbrille Google Glass kann sowohl als Usability Device wie auch als Tracker verstanden werden. Oder Samsungs Gear Fit fällt in die Kategorien Usability – das Gerät hat eine Uhr eingebaut und zeigt uns unter anderem verpasste Anrufe wie auch empfangene Nachrichten an – oder auch als Tracker dank integrierter GPS-Ortung verstanden werden. Daher hat die Tabelle bei der Gewichtung den Fokus auf die Hauptfunktion des Geräts gelegt. Gear Fit will die Bewegungen aufzeichnen, Google Glass hilft im Alltag aus.

Brian Moore, Senior Designer der Design- und Developmentfirma Cubicle Ninjas, wählte eine andere Stossrichtung und gruppierte Wearables in zwei Klassen, basierend auf dem Funktionsumfang. Sein Vorschläg lässt sich am besten in einer Venn-Grafik darstellen.

Die Aufteilung der Wearables in Klassen. Grafik: scip nach Brian Moore

Als Hauptkriterium setzt er die technologische Funktionsweise an. Haben Wearables, wie das Nike FuelBand, das Fitbit oder ein Bluetooth Headset, nur einen Nutzen? Oder dienen die Geräte wie Google Glass, Samsung Gear oder Samsung Gear Fit zur Erweiterung eines anderen Geräts, wie dem Smartphone?

Vorteile der fehlenden Grenzen

Heute sind Wearables noch jung. Weder Technologie noch Anwendung wie auch Objekt sind vollständig ausgereift. Dennoch sagen Enthusiasten, Entwickler und Industrie den Computern am eigenen Körper eine grosse Zukunft voraus.

Der Mangel an Einteilung oder klarer Kategorisierung kann aber dazu führen, dass Entwickler weiterhin ausserhalb von geregelten Bahnen denken, weil ebendiese komplett fehlen. Daher geniessen Entwickler derzeit eine kreative Freiheit in einem noch jungen Gebiet, was zu sprunghaften und schnellen Entwicklungen führen wird. Zweifelsohne wird sich früher oder später eine Kategorisierung einbürgern, was der Kreativität hoffentlich keinen Abbruch tun wird.

Über den Autor

Dominik Bärlocher

Der Journalist Dominik Bärlocher ist seit 2006 im IT-Bereich tätig. Während seiner Arbeit als Journalist bei grossen Schweizer Zeitungen sind ihm seine Recherchefähigkeiten und seine IT-Affinität immer wieder zu Hilfe gekommen. Bei scip AG führt er OSINT Researches durch und betreibt Information Gathering.

Links

Sie brauchen Unterstützung bei einem solchen Projekt?

Unsere Spezialisten kontaktieren Sie gern!

×
Crypto-Malware

Crypto-Malware

Ahmet Hrnjadovic

TIBER-EU Framework

TIBER-EU Framework

Dominik Altermatt

Vertrauen und KI

Vertrauen und KI

Marisa Tschopp

Datenverschlüsselung in der Cloud

Datenverschlüsselung in der Cloud

Tomaso Vasella

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv

Sie brauchen Unterstützung bei einem solchen Projekt?

Unsere Spezialisten kontaktieren Sie gern!

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv