scip Cybersecurity Forecast – Predictions for 2020

scip Cybersecurity Forecast

Predictions for 2020

Marc Ruef
by Marc Ruef
on December 19, 2019
time to read: 4 minutes

As 2019 draws to a close, we are once again ending the year with our usual forecast for the coming year. Here are the topics that we expect will become most relevant or will continue to evolve throughout 2020:

Fragmentation of data protection regulations

The introduction of the EU General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR) has thrown up major challenges for many companies around the world. Various countries and even individual states in the USA are now making additional efforts to establish their own globally recognized data protection requirements. This fragmentation will initially lead to additional costs in many industries. But in the long term, reconciliation may result in harmonization, which will cause the expected investments to slow down.


Criticism of big tech companies

It appears increasingly obvious that large technology companies, primarily from the USA, are dictating to their users. Criticism of this kind of control, which is often knowingly enforced, will increase from both society as a whole and from politicians. Social criticism in Western countries will trigger a counter-movement through legal requirements; this in turn will limit the power exerted by companies like Google and Facebook. It remains to be seen whether the jobs and investments created as a consequence will make political bondage apparent.


Voice assistants in many different forms

The popularity of voice assistants (conversational AI) continues to grow. And they’re not just included on smartphones and computer systems, which makes them versatile. Modular solutions that can be retrofitted as unobtrusive hardware, or even just as software, will conquer the market. They will be used consistently in cars, televisions, games consoles, kitchen appliances, lights, furniture, headphones and glasses. Amazon in particular is really setting standards with Alexa, which now comes available in a whole host of colors and shapes.


AI, AR and VR finding their way into everyday life

Artificial intelligence (AI), augmented reality (AR) and virtual reality (VR) are enjoying greater social acceptance. This is due in part to technological improvements (e.g. latency, frame rate, resolution), but it also stems from specific, applicable use cases. The added value they provide makes them even more convenient and enhances their efficiency. For a long time now, these mechanisms have been an indispensable part of everyday routine. Technological improvements will probably result in a new version of the Google Glass, thus leading to greater discussion surrounding social scoring.


Specialized cyber insurance

So far we haven’t seen the kind of extensive testing of cyber insurance that might reveal its technical and legal shortcomings. But this won’t stop profit-hungry insurers from pressing ahead with specialized cyber insurance. Consumers may well then be able to take out policies on cars, heating systems and kitchen appliances. But with many insurers only providing limited ransomware coverage, some policyholders may be in for a rude awakening.


Fragmentation through ecosystems promoting a return to well-known solutions

The number of ecosystems has grown steadily in recent years. This is true of operating systems as well as video streaming providers. This increased fragmentation is causing consumer fatigue, because no one wants to deal with a multitude of different offers and they certainly don’t want to invest in incompatible solutions. Consequently, they are returning to tried-and-tested solutions. Ecosystems have to open up, merge with one another or aim for greater mutual compatibility at the very least. Otherwise we may again see an increase in consumers wanting to resort to traditional illegal distribution channels.


About the Author

Marc Ruef

Marc Ruef has been working in information security since the late 1990s. He is well-known for his many publications and books. The last one called The Art of Penetration Testing is discussing security testing in detail. He is a lecturer at several universities, like ETH, HWZ, HSLU and IKF. (ORCID 0000-0002-1328-6357)

You want to evaluate or develop an AI?

Our experts will get in contact with you!

×
Ransomware Detection, Defense, and Analysis

Ransomware Detection, Defense, and Analysis

Marc Ruef

Data Markets

Data Markets

Marc Ruef

Password Leak Analysis

Password Leak Analysis

Marc Ruef

You want more?

Further articles available here

You need support in such a project?

Our experts will get in contact with you!

You want more?

Further articles available here

scip Cybersecurity Forecast - Voraussagen für 2020

scip Cybersecurity Forecast

Voraussagen für 2020

Marc Ruef
von Marc Ruef
am 19. Dezember 2019
Lesezeit: 4 Minuten

Wie jedes Jahr möchten wir auch zum Ende des Jahres 2019 einen Forecast für das kommende Jahr 2020 machen. Nachfolgend eben jene Themen, die sich unseres Erachtens manifestieren oder gar noch weiterentwickeln werden:

Fragmentierung von Datenschutzbestimmungen

Die Einführung der EU-Datenschutzgrundverordnung DSGVO hat viele Firmen weltweit vor grosse Herausforderungen gestellt. Verschiedene Länder und gar einzelne Staaten in den USA sind nun zusätzlich darum bemüht, ihre eigenen weltweit anzuerkennenden Datenschutzanforderungen zu etablieren. Diese Fragmentierung wird in einem ersten Schritt zu einem Mehraufwand in vielen Branchen führen. Lanfristig kann aber ein Abgleich und dadurch eine Vereinheitlichung stattfinden, wodurch die zu erwartenden Investitionen diesbezüglich abflauen werden.


Kritik an Big Tech Firmen

Dass die grossen Technologieunternehmen, in erster Linie aus den USA, ihre Nutzer einem Diktat unterwerfen, scheint immer offensichtlicher. Die Kritik der oftmals bewusst durchgesetzten Steuerung wird von gesellschaftlicher und politischer Seite zunehmen. Die Gesellschaftskritik wird in den westlichen Ländern durch gesetzliche Anforderungen eine Gegenbewegung auslösen, die ihrerseits die Macht von Firmen wie Google und Facebook limitieren wird. Es bleibt abzuwarten, ob durch die geschaffenen Arbeitsstellen und Investitionen eine Hörigkeit der Politik offensichtlich wird.


Sprachassistenten in vielerlei Formen

Sprachassistenten (Conversational AI) erfreuen sich noch immer zunehmender Beliebtheit. Dass diese nicht nur auf Smartphones und Computersystemen verfügbar sind, macht sie vielseitig einsetzbar. Modulare Lösungen, die als unauffällige Hardware oder gar nur als Software nachgerüstet werden können, werden den Markt erobern. Einzug halten werden sie konsequent in Autos, Fernsehgeräten, Spielkonsolen, Küchengeräten, Leuchtmitteln, Möbeln, Kopfhörern und Brillen. Hier setzt vor allem Amazon mit Alexa Akzente, die mittlerweile in zig Farben und Formen zur Verfügung steht.


AI, AR und VR halten Einzug in den Alltag

Artificial Intelligence (AI), Augmented Reality (AR) und Virtual Reality (VR) sind Technologien, die immer mehr gesellschaftliche Akzeptanz erlangen. Dies ist einerseits auf die technologischen Verbesserungen (z.B. Latenz, Framerate, Auflösung), andererseits aber auch auf die konkret nutzbaren Use-Cases zurückzuführen. Der durch sie gewährte Mehrwert führt zusätzlichen Komfort und erweiterte Effizienz ein. Über lange Zeit sind diese Mechanismen nicht mehr aus alltäglichen Aktivitäten wegzudenken. Die Verbesserung der Technologien wird dann wohl auch zu einer neuen Iteraration der Google Glasses und damit zu einer Diskussion bezüglich Social Scoring führen.


Spezialisierte Cyberversicherungen

Der breitflächige Test von Cyberversicherungen, die ihre technischen und rechtlichen Unzulänglichkeiten offenlegen werden, blieben bisher aus. Dennoch werden die Versicherugen mit Profit vor Augen spezialisierte Cyberversicherungen vorantreiben. Diese können dann für Autos, Heizungssysteme und Küchengeräte abgeschlossen werden. Dass in vielen Policen die Deckung von Ransomware nur beschränkt gewährleistet wird, dürfte bei manchen Versicherungsnehmern zu einem bösen Erwachen führen.


Fragmentierung durch Ökosysteme fördert Rückkehr zu Altbekanntem

Die Anzahl der Ökosysteme ist in den letzten Jahren stetig gewachsen. Dies gilt für Betriebssysteme genauso wie für Anbieter von Video-Straming. Diese erhöhte Fragmentierung führt zu einer Müdigkeit der Konsumenten, die sich nicht mit der Vielzahl unterschiedlicher Angebote auseinandersetzen und vor allem nicht in die miteinander inkompatiblen Lösungen investieren wollen. Dadurch wird eine Rückkehr zu Altbekanntem eingeläutet. Ökosysteme müssen sich öffnen, sich zusammenschliessen oder mindestens Kompatibilitäten schaffen. Ansonsten werden Konsumenten wieder vermehrt auf traditionelle illegale Distributionswege zurückgreifen wollen.


Über den Autor

Marc Ruef

Marc Ruef ist seit Ende der 1990er Jahre im Cybersecurity-Bereich aktiv. Er hat vor allem im deutschsprachigen Raum aufgrund der Vielzahl durch ihn veröffentlichten Fachpublikationen und Bücher – dazu gehört besonders Die Kunst des Penetration Testing – Bekanntheit erlangt. Er ist Dozent an verschiedenen Hochschulen, darunter ETH, HWZ, HSLU und IKF. (ORCID 0000-0002-1328-6357)

Sie wollen eine KI evaluieren oder entwickeln?

Unsere Spezialisten kontaktieren Sie gern!

×
Cyber Threat Intelligence

Cyber Threat Intelligence

Marc Ruef

3D Printing

3D Printing

Marc Ruef

Contact Tracing App DP3T

Contact Tracing App DP3T

Marc Ruef

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv

Sie brauchen Unterstützung bei einem solchen Projekt?

Unsere Spezialisten kontaktieren Sie gern!

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv