Local Security Authority – Keeping Secrets Safe

Local Security Authority

Keeping Secrets Safe

Michael Schneider
by Michael Schneider
on November 21, 2019
time to read: 6 minutes

Keypoints

How to keep your secrets safe in Windows

  • Security modules store login credentials in the Local Security Authority
  • Microsoft published various measures to make access harder
  • LSA protection is effective but rarely used
  • Credential Guard protects domain accounts by using virtualization techniques
  • Credentials can be kept safe by implementing all measures

On July 10, 2014, I first wrote about Windows Local Security Authority (LSA) in the article Windows passwords – a well-known secret?. Over the last five years, Microsoft has made several improvements in this area. Nonetheless, credentials can still be extracted from the memory in 2019. This article summarizes the developments over the last few years and presents options for hardening.

The Local Security Authority Subsystem Service (LSASS) is responsible for implementing the security policy, verifying users, processing password changes, creating access tokens and managing smart cards. To do so, various security modules called Security Support Providers (SSP) are loaded into the LSASS process. These security modules include Kerberos, NTLM (MSV1), TLS/SSL (Schannel) and Digest (WDigest). Passwords stored in the memory can be accessed via these security modules.

Times were grim for password security in the memory prior to Microsoft Security Advisory 2871997. The passwords were stored as plain text by the Kerberos or WDigest modules. Tools such as Mimikatz or Windows Credentials Editor (WCE) had no trouble at all extracting these passwords.

Once Advisory 2871997 had been published, it was possible to harden the system so that passwords were no longer stored as plain text. For WDigest, the registry key UseLogonCredential=dword:00000000 can be set under HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\System\CurrentControlSet\Control\SecurityProviders\WDigest.

The Credential Delegation function also affects whether passwords can be read from the LSASS memory as plain text. You can preventively disallow this by configuring the following settings:

A missed opportunity

With Windows 8.1 and Windows Server 2012 R2, Microsoft introduced the Additional LSA Protection function. This makes it possible to configure the LSASS process as a Protected Process Light. To do so, the registry key RunAsPPL=dword:00000001 must be set under HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\Lsa. After that, the security modules must be signed by Microsoft and additonally non-protected processes are no longer able to access the LSASS store and therefore the credentials.

As noted in the article Monitoring – detecting attacks with MITRE ATT&CK, Mimikatz can still be used to access the LSASS process and extract credentials. To do this, Mimikatz must be used to load a driver that has been signed correctly for running in kernel mode, thereby raising the bar for access. A Security Operations Center can also monitor Windows event logs to detect this attack and respond accordingly.

According to our observations during assessments, the LSA Protection function is used surprisingly little, neither on servers nor on client systems.

Credential Guard

Credential Guard was introduced with Windows 10 and Windows Server 2016. In the article Credential and Device Guard – is the tide turning?, I concluded that it will probably take years until Credential Guard is widely used. The higher requirements for operating Virtual Secure Mode (VSM), licensing requirements (Windows Enterprise), and incompatibilities with applications further delay implementation. In contrast to the LSA Protection function, however, we increasingly come across Credential Guard being used in practice.

Credential Guard protects domain credentials. Local accounts, Microsoft accounts and smart card PIN codes remain unprotected. For local administrator credentials, solutions such as the Local Administrator Password Solution (LAPS) or third-party products are available to ensure that all local administrator accounts have unique passwords on all systems.

As of November 2019, there has been no publicly known direct attack on Credential Guard. There are workarounds like using Mimikatz to load a security module, which logs the credentials of all locally authenticated accounts. However, this can be made more difficult by activating LSA Protection as this allows only SSPs signed by Microsoft to be loaded, or Mimikatz must first be used to remove this protection.

Other hardening options

In addition to the already mentioned LSA Protection and Credential Guard functions, additional security components can help protect credentials. On most systems, administrator debug privileges (SeDebugPrivilege) can be revoked. These rights are required in order to use a debugger for any process or the kernel. These rights are rarely used in normal operation. Tools like Mimikatz need these rights to interact with the LSASS process. This right can be revoked from the local administrator group under Computer Configuration\Windows Settings\Security Settings\Local Policies\User Rights Assignment\Debug programs with a group policy.

Using an application whitelisting solution offers further protection against malware and implementing an extensive monitoring solution helps detect possible abuse.

Conclusion

The functions and hardening measures introduced by Microsoft improve the protection of the LSASS process. Successful implementation of the listed measures in a system makes it significantly harder to extract credentials. This is particularly important because many malware programs use credential dumping and utilize Mimikatz or WCE components to do so. By combining the listed measures, secrets can be stored safely in the Local Security Authority where they are now protected from such attacks.

About the Author

Michael Schneider

Michael Schneider has been in IT since 2000. Since 2010 he is focused on information security. He is an expert at penetration testing, hardening and the detection of vulnerabilities in operating systems. He is well-known for a variety of tools written in PowerShell to find, exploit, and mitigate weaknesses. (ORCID 0000-0003-0772-9761)

Links

You want to test the strength of your enterprise regarding malware attacks?

Our experts will get in contact with you!

×
WebSockets

WebSockets

Michael Schneider

HardeningKitty Score

HardeningKitty Score

Michael Schneider

HTTP Response Header

HTTP Response Header

Michael Schneider

You want more?

Further articles available here

You need support in such a project?

Our experts will get in contact with you!

You want more?

Further articles available here

Local Security Authority - Geheimnisse sicher aufbewahren

Local Security Authority

Geheimnisse sicher aufbewahren

Michael Schneider
von Michael Schneider
am 21. November 2019
Lesezeit: 6 Minuten

Keypoints

So bewahren Sie Geheimnisse in Windows sicher auf

  • Sicherheitsmodule speichern Zugangsdaten in der Local Security Authority
  • Microsoft veröffentlichte verschiedene Massnahmen um den Zugriff zu erschweren
  • LSA Protection ist wirkungsvoll, wird aber wenig genutzt
  • Credential Guard schützt Domänenkonten durch Virtualisierungstechniken
  • Durch Umsetzung aller Massnahmen können Zugangsdaten sicher aufbewahrt werden

Am 10. Juli 2014 habe ich im Beitrag Windows Passwörter – Ein wohlbekanntes Geheimnis? erstmals über Windows Local Security Authority (LSA) geschrieben. In den vergangenen fünf Jahren wurden von Microsoft einige Verbesserungen in diesem Bereich eingeführt. Trotzdem ist es auch im Jahr 2019 noch möglich Zugangsdaten aus dem Arbeitsspeicher zu lesen. In diesem Beitrag fasse ich die Entwicklungen der letzten Jahre zusammen und stelle die Hardeningmöglichkeiten vor.

Der Local Security Authority Subsystem Service (LSASS) ist für die Umsetzung der Sicherheitspolicy, der Verifikation von Benutzern, der Verarbeitung von Passwortwechseln, die Erstellung von Access-Token sowie für die Verwaltung von Smartcards zuständig. Dazu werden verschiedene Sicherheitsmodule, bezeichnet als Security Support Provider (SSP) in den LSASS-Prozess geladen. Zu diesen Sicherheitsmodulen gehören unter anderem Kerberos, NTLM (MSV1), TLS/SSL (Schannel) und Digest (WDigest). Über diese Sicherheitsmodule ist es möglich auf Passwörter im Arbeitsspeicher zuzugreifen.

Vor dem Microsoft Security Advisory 2871997 herrschte eine dunkle Zeit für die Sicherheit der Passwörter im Arbeitsspeicher. Die Passwörter wurden durch die Module Kerberos oder WDigest im Klartext abgelegt. Tools wie Mimikatz oder Windows Credentials Editor (WCE) hatten ein einfaches Spiel diese auszulesen.

Nach der Veröffentlichung des Advisory 2871997 war es möglich das System so zu härten, dass die Passwörter nicht mehr im Klartext abgelegt wurden. Für WDigest kann der Registry-Key UseLogonCredential=dword:00000000 unter HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\System\CurrentControlSet\Control\SecurityProviders\WDigest gesetzt werden.

Die Funktion Credential Delegation hat ebenfalls noch Einfluss, ob Passwörter im Klartext aus dem LSASS-Speicher ausgelesen werden können. Durch das Konfigurieren der folgenden Einstellungen kann dies präventiv unterbunden werden:

Eine ungenutzte Chance

Mit Windows 8.1 und Windows Server 2012 R2 führte Microsoft die Funktion Additional LSA Protection ein. Dabei kann der LSASS-Prozess als Protected Process Light konfiguriert werden. Dafür muss der Registry-Key RunAsPPL=dword:00000001 unter HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\Lsa gesetzt werden. Danach müssen die Sicherheitsmodule von Microsoft signiert sein und der Zugriff auf den LSASS-Speicher und somit die Zugangsdaten ist für Non-Protected-Prozesse nicht mehr möglich.

Wie im Beitrag Monitoring – Detektieren von Angriffen mittels MITRE ATT&CK aufgezeigt, ist es mit der Hilfe von Mimikatz trotzdem noch möglich auf den LSASS-Prozess zuzugreifen und Zugangsdaten auszulesen. Dafür muss mit Mimikatz ein Treiber geladen werden, der korrekt für den Betrieb im Kernel-Mode signiert wurde. Somit konnte die Hürde für den Zugriff höher gelegt werden. Ein Security Operations Center kann zudem mittels Überwachung von Windows-Event-Logs diesen Angriff erkennen und entsprechend darauf reagieren.

Die Funktion LSA Protection wird nach unseren Beobachtungen bei Assessments überraschenderweise nur wenig genutzt, weder auf Server noch auf Clientsystemen.

Credential Guard

Credential Guard wurde mit Windows 10 und Windows Server 2016 eingeführt. Im Artikel Credential und Device Guard – Wendet sich das Blatt? schloss ich mit dem Fazit, dass vermutlich noch Jahre vergehen, bis Credential Guard verbreitet eingesetzt wird. Durch die erhöhten Voraussetzung für den Betrieb des Virtual Secure Mode (VSM), Lizenz-Anforderungen (Windows Enterprise) und Inkompatibilitäten mit Anwendungen erfolgt die Einführung nur zögerlich. Im Gegensatz zur Funktion LSA Protection treffen wir Credential Guard dennoch vermehrt in der Praxis an.

Durch Credential Guard werden Domänen-Zugangsdaten geschützt. Nicht geschützt verbleiben lokale Konten, Microsoft Accounts sowie PIN-Codes von Smartcards. Für die lokalen Administrationszugänge existieren Lösungen wie Local Administrator Password Solution (LAPS) oder Drittprodukte, damit zumindest die Passwörter des lokalen Administratorenkontos auf allen Systemen unterschiedlich gehalten werden können.

Ein direkter Angriff auf Credential Guard ist auch im November 2019 nicht öffentlich bekannt. Es gibt Umgehungsmöglichkeiten wie das Laden eines Sicherheitsmoduls mit Mimikatz, das die Zugangsdaten aller lokal authentisierten Accounts aufzeichnet. Dies kann jedoch durch die Aktivierung von LSA Protection erschwert werden, da nur von Microsoft signierte SSPs geladen werden dürfen. Oder dieser Schutz zuerst mit Mimikatz entfernt werden muss.

Weitere Hardeningmöglichkeiten

Neben den bereits erwähnten Funktionen LSA Protection und Credential Guard können weitere Sicherheitskomponenten zum Schutz der Zugangsdaten beitragen. Auf den meisten Systemen können Administratoren die Debug-Privilegien (SeDebugPrivilege) entzogen werden. Diese Rechte werden dazu benötigt, um einen Debugger für einen beliebigen Prozess oder den Kernel zu verwenden. Im normalen Betrieb werden diese Rechte selten genutzt. Tools wie Mimikatz benötigen diese Rechte, um mit dem LSASS-Prozess zu interagieren. In den Gruppenrichtlinien kann der lokalen Administratorengruppe unter Computer Configuration\Windows Settings\Security Settings\Local Policies\User Rights Assignment\Debug programs das Recht entzogen werden.

Zusätzlich schützt die Verwendung einer Application-Whitelisting-Lösung vor Malware und die Umsetzung einer umfassenden Monitoring-Lösung hilft möglichen Missbrauch zu detektieren.

Fazit

Die von Microsoft eingeführten Funktionen und Härtungsmassnahmen führen zu einem erhöhten Schutz des LSASS-Prozess. Wenn die aufgeführten Massnahmen auf einem System umgesetzt werden können, wird das Auslesen von Zugangsdaten enorm erschwert. Dies ist insbesondere wichtig, da viele Malware auf Credential Dumping setzen und dabei auch auf Bestandteile von Mimikatz oder WCE zurückgreifen. Durch eine Kombination der aufgeführten Massnahmen können gespeicherten Geheimnisse in der Local Security Authority sicher vor solchen Angriffen aufbewahrt werden.

Über den Autor

Michael Schneider

Michael Schneider arbeitet seit dem Jahr 2000 in der IT. Im Jahr 2010 hat er sich auf die Informationssicherheit spezialisiert. Zu seinen Aufgaben gehören das Penetration Testing, Hardening und das Aufspüren von Schwachstellen in Betriebssystemen. Er ist bekannt für eine Vielzahl in PowerShell geschrieber Tools zum Finden, Ausnutzen und Beheben von Schwachstellen. (ORCID 0000-0003-0772-9761)

Links

Sie wollen die Resistenz Ihres Unternehmens auf Malware prüfen?

Unsere Spezialisten kontaktieren Sie gern!

×
HardeningKitty

HardeningKitty

Michael Schneider

KleptoKitty

KleptoKitty

Michael Schneider

Linux Hardening

Linux Hardening

Michael Schneider

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv

Sie brauchen Unterstützung bei einem solchen Projekt?

Unsere Spezialisten kontaktieren Sie gern!

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv