Diversify AI - Switzerland wants more Diversity in AI

Diversify AI

Switzerland wants more Diversity in AI

Marisa Tschopp
Marisa Tschopp
Dr. Natalia Lyarskaya (external)
Dr. Natalia Lyarskaya (external)
Dr. Dorothea Baur (external)
Dr. Dorothea Baur (external)
Jauwairia Nasir (external)
Jauwairia Nasir (external)
on June 24, 2021
time to read: 12 minutes

Keypoints

Ways to remedy the lack of diversity are manifold

  • Switzerland is a trusted hub for innovation and Artificial Intelligence (AI) in the world
  • A look behind the scenes reveals that AI in Switzerland is facing the same challenges as other countries when it comes to diversity
  • Current data highlight the structural problems underlying the gender gap among AI professionals
  • Against this background, the gender gap means that the people building AI systems are not representative of the people those systems are meant to serve
  • The significant growth among of women's networks and communities in the digital segment is one reason for hope

Since 2017, there has been significant growth among women’s networks and communities in the digital segment with the key mission to increase the number of women working in the ICT sector in Switzerland, to raise awareness of the current gender gap in AI, to provide support when requested, to offer mentoring and skill courses, and to help women move forward. One of these groups – Women in AI, with its DACH cluster (Germany, Austria, Switzerland), and dedicated Swiss chapter, with a newly formed team of highly skilled and ambitious women from different backgrounds, is on a mission to tackle the gender bias problem and to increase diversity in AI in Switzerland, including ethnic and cultural inclusivity within their mission.

Without any doubt, Switzerland is a trusted hub for innovation and Artificial Intelligence in the world. Thanks to the simultaneous presence of world-leading academic research institutions and industry innovation labs, Switzerland regularly ranks among the leaders when it comes to AI. For the past ten years, it has held 1st place as the top innovation economy, according to the Global Innovation Index (WIPO). Switzerland also leads the Global Talent Competitiveness Index (INSEAD), nurturing entrepreneurial talent identified as key to the competitiveness of the nation.

Switzerland is also home to many leading AI research institutes: The two federal institutes of technology ETH Zurich and EPFL in Lausanne, IDSIA in Lugano, IDIAP Research Institute in Martigny, among others. A high level of output from these institutions allowed Switzerland to gain the third-highest number of AI patents in comparison to its population, in an international comparison. Thanks to its traditional strength in the life sciences industry, Switzerland scores particularly well with AI patents in the healthcare sector.

The proximity to cutting-edge research has prompted a substantial number of global tech companies to conduct their AI research from Switzerland. Multinational tech leaders such as Google, IBM, HP, Microsoft, Novartis, Apple, and many others, set up their innovation labs and ‘brain centers’ in this country fueling their ingenious innovation technologies.

Switzerland has a diversity problem (just like other countries, too)

This all sounds excellent, doesn’t it? However, there is a catch. A look behind the scenes reveals that AI in Switzerland is firmly in male hands, or should we say male brains? The numbers speak for themselves: Despite being ranked among the world’s top adopters of emerging technologies, including AI, Switzerland is a tough place for most aspirational working women, not exclusively but also for those working in technology and AI. According to The Global Gender Gap study performed by World Economic Forum and the LinkedIn network, only 19% of women are positioning themselves as AI professionals in Switzerland, as opposed to 22% globally; for reference, neighboring France and Italy are performing even better – with 21% and 28%, correspondingly.

The underrepresentation of women, however, already starts at an earlier point in time, namely at the university level. There is a significant gap between men and women attaining education in Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics (STEM) studies: Men are three times more likely to do so (11.5% of women versus 37.5% of men).

Gender Gap in MINT Fächern in der Schweiz

Gender Gap in MINT Fächern in Frankreich und der Schweiz

Such data highlights the structural problems underlying the gender gap among AI professionals. The differentiated career trajectories taken by men and women in today’s labor market, further exacerbate the unequal opportunities in acquiring emerging and well-demanded skills. Yet, the implications of this gender gap in the creation of AI and other emerging technologies go beyond mere ‘equal career opportunity’ or ‘workplace representation’ concerns, if we consider that artificial intelligence (AI) systems will have far-reaching impacts across different areas of our lives: As AI-based pattern recognition or even decision-making is used in finance, in healthcare, in educational technologies, in the justice system, in recruiting, in the fashion industry, or even dating, each and everyone of us will be affected by it in one way or another. Against this background, the gender gap means that the people building AI systems are not representative of the people those systems are meant to serve.

To reiterate, there is an underrepresentation of women at every stage of the system: From the identification of possible problems solvable by AI, creation of data sets to the building of AI solutions, just to mention a few. To not have a huge portion of the population included in the design process would mean building a world that is not built for everyone. The lack of diversity, including gender identity, not only risks creating an uneven distribution of power in the workforce, but also, equally important, it reinforces existing inequalities generated by AI systems, reduces the scope of individuals and organizations for whom these systems work, and contributes to unfair outcomes (see for example – the Gender Shades project, Joy Buolamwini’s work).

On a mission to increase diversity and inclusion in AI

However, there is reason for hope: Since 2017, there has been significant growth among women’s networks and communities in the digital segment with the key mission to increase the number of women working in the ICT sector in Switzerland, to raise awareness of the current gender gap in AI, to provide support when requested, to offer mentoring and skill courses, and to help women move forward. See, for example, the Wetechtogether conference, which brings together a broad range of Swiss communities.

Non-Profit Communities in der Schweiz

One of these groups is Women in AI, with its DACH cluster (Germany, Austria, Switzerland), and dedicated Swiss chapter. With a newly formed team of highly skilled and ambitious women from different backgrounds, they are on a mission to encounter problems, among them gender bias, and to increase diversity in AI in Switzerland, including ethnic and cultural inclusivity within their mission.

Women in AI Chapter Schweiz

Being part of the global Women in AI Community, team Switzerland aims to bring together a community of experts in the field of AI, to increase the representation of women in AI and to inspire, as well as to support future generations of women leaders in AI. In Switzerland, the team is represented by a diverse group of highly-rated professional leaders and aspiring academics, coming from different backgrounds with different areas of expertise and professional levels. This team has experts in AI ethics and governance, in applied AI/ML and robotics, in AI research, and in innovation and digital transformation.

We consider ourselves as a working group. We serve the Swiss chapter, from research to practice, and do what we can to help solve problems with our partners and friends. And shape the future of the country we love. Says Marisa Tschopp, who is orchestrating the group.

Collaborating with diverse partners, like SwissCognitive (The Global AI Hub), EPFL, TechFace (Community recruiting), CLAIRE (Confederation of Laboratories for Artificial Intelligence Research in Europe), scip AG (cybersecurity) – as well as with the peer communities – e.g. IWIS (International Women in Science), Women in AI team Switzerland helps organize events around AI for both adults – content-driven conferences and workshops, as well as talks on subjects like diversity in AI, bias in AI, etc., and it also engages with kids and young adults by organizing educational camps on AI and robotics, tech and mentoring sessions, and personality development workshops.

Women in AI Educational Lead

The aim of the aforementioned events around AI for adults is to not only attract those women and men who already believe in and agree with the need of making AI more inclusive but rather also to engage policy and decision-makers who do not see a disproportionate representation of women as an issue. Furthermore, the team’s involvement with engrossing kids and younger adults is inspired by the belief that it is at that early age when a person’s mindset is being shaped by the stereotypical roles that the society associates with girls and boys and how, if not better dealt with, it can influence self-conception. Says Jauwairia Nasir, leading the Education taskforce in Switzerland.

To raise awareness of the gender gap in AI, as well as to generate more educational content for everyone, Women in AI participates in producing reports – both business and technical-oriented, in researching the intersection of academia and industry, and in sharing scientific information via online blogs and social networks. See, for example, the AI for Gender Equality Report, produced by a global committee (WAI Sweden, Switzerland, Ireland, Australia, and Mexico).

Outlook

The global artificial intelligence market size is expected to reach $169,411.8 million in 2025, growing at a CAGR (Compound annual growth rate) of 55.6% from 2018 to 2025 and Switzerland plays an active role in this exciting journey. But we must make sure that everyone is on board. Now is the time to reverse current gender trajectories, and to ensure that Artificial Intelligence is a field that is inclusive by design, that economic opportunities created by AI do not increase existing gender inequalities, and that new AI systems serve the needs of society at large. Switzerland is on an important mission to increase diversity in AI and Women in AI, among many others, are proud to be part of it.

About the authors

This article was co-authored by a working group.

References

Links

You want to evaluate or develop an AI?

Our experts will get in contact with you!

×
Ransomware Detection, Defense, and Analysis

Ransomware Detection, Defense, and Analysis

Marc Ruef

You want more?

Further articles available here

You need support in such a project?

Our experts will get in contact with you!

You want more?

Further articles available here

Diversify AI - Die Schweiz will mehr Diversität in KI

Diversify AI

Die Schweiz will mehr Diversität in KI

Marisa Tschopp
Marisa Tschopp
Dr. Natalia Lyarskaya (extern)
Dr. Natalia Lyarskaya (extern)
Dr. Dorothea Baur (extern)
Dr. Dorothea Baur (extern)
Jauwairia Nasir (extern)
Jauwairia Nasir (extern)
am 24. Juni 2021
Lesezeit: 12 Minuten

Keypoints

Vielfältige Wege, dem Mangel an Vielfalt zu begegnen

  • Die Schweiz ist ein vertrauenswürdiger Knotenpunkt für Innovation und künstliche Intelligenz (KI) in der Welt
  • Ein Blick hinter die Kulissen zeigt, dass KI in der Schweiz vor den gleichen Herausforderungen steht wie andere Länder, wenn es um Diversität geht
  • Aktuelle Daten zeigen die strukturellen Probleme auf, die dem Gender Gap unter KI-Fachleuten zugrunde liegen
  • Vor diesem Hintergrund bedeutet die Geschlechterlücke, dass die Menschen, die KI-Systeme bauen, nicht repräsentativ für die Menschen sind, denen diese Systeme dienen sollen
  • Das signifikante Wachstum unter Frauennetzwerken und Communities im digitalen Segment ist ein Grund zur Hoffnung

Seit 2017 gibt es ein signifikantes Wachstum von Frauennetzwerken und Communities im digitalen Bereich, die sich zum Ziel gesetzt haben, die Anzahl der Frauen, die in der Schweiz in der ICT-Branche arbeiten, zu erhöhen, das Bewusstsein für die aktuelle Geschlechterlücke in der KI zu schärfen, bei Bedarf Unterstützung zu bieten, Mentoring und Skill-Kurse anzubieten und Frauen beim Vorankommen zu helfen. Eine dieser Gruppen ist Women in AI, mit ihrem DACH-Cluster Deutschland, Österreich, und einer neu formierten Schweizer Sektion. Das Team, bestehend aus qualifizierten und ehrgeizigen Frauen mit unterschiedlichem Hintergrund, ist auf einer Mission, das Problem des Gender Bias anzugehen und die Vielfalt in der KI in der Schweiz zu erhöhen, einschliesslich ethnischer und kultureller Inklusivität.

Die Schweiz ist zweifelsohne eine vertrauenswürdige Drehscheibe für Innovation und Künstliche Intelligenz in der Welt. Dank der Präsenz weltweit führender akademischer Forschungseinrichtungen und industrieller Innovationslabore, gehört die Schweiz regelmässig zur Spitzengruppe, wenn es um KI geht. In den letzten zehn Jahren belegte sie laut Global Innovation Index (WIPO) den 1. als Top Innovationswirtschaft. Die Schweiz führt auch den Global Talent Competitiveness Index (INSEAD) an und fördert unternehmerische Talente, die als Schlüssel für die Wettbewerbsfähigkeit der Nation identifiziert wurden.

Die Schweiz beherbergt auch viele führende KI-Forschungsinstitute: Die beiden Eidgenössischen Technischen Hochschulen ETH Zürich und EPFL in Lausanne, das IDSIA in Lugano, das Forschungsinstitut IDIAP in Martigny, um nur einige zu nennen. Der hohe Output dieser Institutionen ermöglichte es der Schweiz, im internationalen Vergleich die dritthöchste Anzahl an KI-Patenten im Verhältnis zur Einwohnerzahl zu erhalten. Dank ihrer traditionellen Stärke in der Life-Sciences-Branche schneidet die Schweiz bei KI-Patenten im Gesundheitsbereich besonders gut ab.

Die Nähe zur Spitzenforschung hat dazu geführt, dass eine beträchtliche Anzahl globaler Tech-Unternehmen ihre KI-Forschung von der Schweiz aus betreibt. Multinationale Tech-Führer wie Google, IBM, HP, Microsoft, Novartis, Apple und viele andere haben ihre Innovationslabore und “Brain Center” in diesem Land eingerichtet, um ihre genialen Innovationstechnologien voranzutreiben.

Die Schweiz hat ein Diversity-Problem (wie andere Länder auch)

Das klingt alles hervorragend, nicht wahr? Doch es gibt einen Haken. Ein Blick hinter die Kulissen zeigt, dass die KI in der Schweiz fest in männlicher Hand ist – oder sollten wir sagen, in männlichen Gehirnen? Die Zahlen sprechen für sich: Obwohl die Schweiz weltweit zu den Top-Adoptern von neuen Technologien, einschliesslich KI, gehört, ist sie ein hartes Pflaster für die meisten aufstrebenden berufstätigen Frauen. Nicht nur, aber auch für diejenigen, die im Bereich Technologie und KI arbeiten. Laut der Studie The Global Gender Gap, die vom World Economic Forum und dem Netzwerk LinkedIn durchgeführt wurde, sind in der Schweiz nur 19 % der Frauen als KI-Professionelle positioniert, im Gegensatz zu 22 % weltweit. Zum Vergleich: Die Nachbarländer Frankreich und Italien schneiden noch besser ab – mit 21 % bzw. 28 %.

Die Unterrepräsentation von Frauen beginnt jedoch bereits zu einem früheren Zeitpunkt, nämlich auf Universitätsebene. Es besteht eine erhebliche Kluft zwischen Männern und Frauen, die eine Ausbildung in den Bereichen Naturwissenschaften, Technologie, Ingenieurwesen und Mathematik (MINT) absolvieren: Männer tun dies dreimal so häufig (11,5 % der Frauen gegenüber 37,5 % der Männer).

Gender Gap in MINT Fächern in der Schweiz

Gender Gap in MINT Fächern in Frankreich und der Schweiz

Diese Daten verdeutlichen die strukturellen Probleme, die dem Geschlechtergefälle bei KI-Fachleuten zugrunde liegen. Die unterschiedlichen Karrierewege, die Männer und Frauen auf dem heutigen Arbeitsmarkt einschlagen, verschärfen die ungleichen Chancen beim Erwerb von aufstrebenden und gefragten Fähigkeiten noch weiter. Die Auswirkungen dieses Gender Gaps bei der Entwicklung von KI und anderen aufstrebenden Technologien gehen jedoch über die blosse Sorge um “gleiche Karrierechancen” oder “Vertretung am Arbeitsplatz” hinaus, wenn wir bedenken, dass Systeme der künstlichen Intelligenz (KI) weitreichende Auswirkungen auf verschiedene Bereiche unseres Lebens haben werden: Wenn KI-basierte Mustererkennung oder sogar Entscheidungsfindung im Finanzwesen, im Gesundheitswesen, in Bildungstechnologien, im Justizsystem, im Recruiting, in der Modeindustrie oder sogar bei der Partnersuche zum Einsatz kommt, wird jeder und jede von uns auf die eine oder andere Weise davon betroffen sein. Vor diesem Hintergrund bedeutet der Gender Gap, dass die Menschen, die KI-Systeme bauen, nicht repräsentativ für die Menschen sind, denen diese Systeme dienen sollen.

Um es noch einmal zu wiederholen: Frauen sind auf jeder Stufe des Systems unterrepräsentiert: Von der Identifizierung möglicher Probleme, die durch KI gelöst werden können, über die Erstellung von Datensätzen bis hin zum Aufbau von KI-Lösungen, um nur einige zu nennen. Einen grossen Teil der Bevölkerung nicht in den Designprozess einzubeziehen, würde bedeuten, eine Welt zu bauen, die nicht für jeden geeignet ist. Das Fehlen von Diversität, einschliesslich der Geschlechtsidentität, birgt nicht nur die Gefahr, eine ungleiche Machtverteilung in der Belegschaft zu schaffen, sondern, was ebenso wichtig ist, verstärkt bestehende Ungleichheiten, die von KI-Systemen erzeugt werden, reduziert den Spielraum von Individuen und Organisationen, für die diese Systeme arbeiten, und trägt zu ungerechten Outputs bei (siehe als Referenz z.B. das Gender Shades Projekt, Joy Buolamwinis Arbeit).

Auf einer Mission für mehr Vielfalt und Inklusion in der KI

Es gibt jedoch Grund zur Hoffnung: Seit 2017 gibt es ein deutliches Wachstum von Frauennetzwerken und Communities im digitalen Bereich, die es sich zur Aufgabe gemacht haben, die Anzahl der Frauen in der ICT-Branche in der Schweiz zu erhöhen, das Bewusstsein für den aktuellen Gender Gap in der KI zu schärfen, bei Bedarf Unterstützung zu leisten, Mentoring und Skill-Kurse anzubieten und Frauen weiterzubringen. Siehe z.B. die Konferenz Wetechtogether, die ein breites Spektrum an Schweizer Communities zusammenbringt.

Non-Profit Communities in der Schweiz

Eine dieser Gruppen ist Women in AI, mit ihrem DACH-Cluster (Deutschland, Österreich, Schweiz) und einem eigenen Schweizer Chapter. Mit einem neu gegründeten Team von hochqualifizierten und ambitionierten Frauen mit unterschiedlichem Hintergrund, haben sie sich zum Ziel gesetzt, Probleme, z.B. rund um Gender Bias, zu lösen und die Vielfalt in der KI in der Schweiz zu erhöhen, einschliesslich ethnischer und kultureller Inklusion innerhalb ihrer Mission.

Women in AI Chapter Schweiz

Als Teil der globalen Women in AI Community will das Team Schweiz eine Gemeinschaft von Experten und Expertinnen im Bereich der KI zusammenbringen, mit dem Ziel, die Repräsentation von Frauen in der KI zu erhöhen und zukünftige Generationen von weiblichen Führungskräften in der KI zu inspirieren und zu unterstützen. In der Schweiz wird das Team durch eine Gruppe von geschätzten professionellen Führungskräften und aufstrebenden Akademikern repräsentiert, die aus verschiedenen Hintergründen mit unterschiedlichen Fachgebieten und von beruflichen Ebenen herkommen. Das Team besteht aus Experten für KI-Ethik und Governance, für angewandte KI/ML und Robotik, für KI-Forschung sowie für Innovation und digitale Transformation.

Wir verstehen uns als eine Arbeitsgruppe. Wir dienen der Schweizer Bevölkerung, von der Forschung bis zur Praxis, und tun, was wir können, um mit unseren Partnern und Freunden Probleme zu lösen. Und gestalten so die Zukunft des Landes mit, das wir lieben. Sagt Marisa Tschopp, die die Gruppe orchestriert.

In Zusammenarbeit mit verschiedenen Partnern wie SwissCognitive (The Global AI Hub), EPFL, TechFace (Community Recruiting), CLAIRE (Confederation of Laboratories for Artificial Intelligence Research in Europe), scip AG (Cybersecurity) – sowie mit den Peer-Communities – z.B. IWIS (International Women in Science), hilft Women in AI Switzerland bei der Organisation von Veranstaltungen rund um KI sowohl für Erwachsene – inhaltsbezogene Konferenzen und Workshops – als auch für Vorträge zu Themen wie Diversität in der KI, Vorurteile in der KI, etc., und engagiert sich auch für Kinder und junge Erwachsene, indem es Bildungscamps zu KI und Robotik, Tech- und Mentoring-Sessions und Workshops zur Stärkung des Selbstvertrauens organisiert.

Women in AI Educational Lead

Das Ziel der oben erwähnten Veranstaltungen rund um KI für Erwachsene ist es, nicht nur jene Frauen und Männer anzusprechen, die bereits an die Notwendigkeit einer inklusiven KI glauben und ihr zustimmen, sondern auch jene Politiker und Entscheidungsträger einzubinden, die eine unverhältnismässige Vertretung von Frauen nicht als Problem sehen. Darüber hinaus ist das Engagement des Teams, Kinder und jüngere Erwachsene einzubeziehen, von der Überzeugung inspiriert, dass die Denkweise eines Menschen in diesem frühen Alter von den stereotypen Rollen geprägt wird, die die Gesellschaft mit Mädchen und Jungen assoziiert; denn diese beeinflussen stark, wenn nicht besser damit umgegangen wird, das Selbstverständnis. Sagt Jauwairia Nasir, Leiterin der Taskforce Bildung in der Schweiz.

Mit dem Ziel, das Bewusstsein für den Gender Gap in der KI zu schärfen sowie mehr Bildungsinhalte für alle zu generieren, beteiligt sich Women in AI an der Erstellung von Berichten – sowohl geschäfts- als auch technikorientiert, an der Forschung an der Schnittstelle von Wissenschaft und Industrie und am Austausch wissenschaftlicher Informationen über Online-Blogs und soziale Netzwerke. Siehe zum Beispiel den AI for Gender Equality Report, entwickelt von einem globalen Komitee (WAI Schweden, Schweiz, Irland, Australien und Mexiko).

Ausblick

Es wird erwartet, dass der weltweite Markt für künstliche Intelligenz im Jahr 2025 169.411,8 Mio. $ erreichen wird und von 2018 bis 2025 mit einer CAGR (Compound annual growth rate) von 55,6% wächst, und die Schweiz spielt eine aktive Rolle auf dieser spannenden Reise. Aber wir müssen sicherstellen, dass alle an Bord sind. Jetzt ist es an der Zeit, die derzeitige Geschlechterentwicklung umzukehren und sicherzustellen, dass Künstliche Intelligenz ein Feld ist, das inclusive by design ist, dass die durch KI geschaffenen wirtschaftlichen Möglichkeiten die bestehenden Ungleichheiten zwischen den Geschlechtern nicht verstärken und, dass neue KI-Systeme den Bedürfnissen der Gesellschaft insgesamt dienen. Die Schweiz befindet sich auf einer wichtigen Mission, um die Diversität in der KI zu erhöhen, und Women in AI ist, neben vielen anderen, stolz darauf, ein Teil davon zu sein.

Über die Autoren

Dieser Artikel wurde von einer Arbeitsgruppe verfasst.

Referenzen

Links

Sie wollen eine KI evaluieren oder entwickeln?

Unsere Spezialisten kontaktieren Sie gern!

×
Ransomware erkennen, abwehren und verfolgen

Ransomware erkennen, abwehren und verfolgen

Marc Ruef

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv

Sie brauchen Unterstützung bei einem solchen Projekt?

Unsere Spezialisten kontaktieren Sie gern!

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv