WebAuthn - The Future of Web Authentication

WebAuthn

The Future of Web Authentication

Marc Ruef
by Marc Ruef
on April 24, 2018
time to read: 7 minutes

Keypoints

  • W3C and FIDO Alliance have introduced a new specification
  • WebAuthn (Web Authentication) standardizes access to hardware mechanisms for the purpose of secure browser authentication
  • Major browser makers like Microsoft, Google, and Mozilla have expressed their support and are working on the first implementations
  • In order to use the mechanism with asymmetric cryptographic methods, registration using conventional password authentication is required first
  • WebAuthn addresses several classic security problems but also increases complexity in the browser

The World Wide Web Consortium (W3C) and FIDO Alliance have introduced a new specification for the FIDO Authentication Framework. WebAuthn (Web Authentication) is designed to promote a standardization of secure authentication on the web. It defines parameters for controlling hardware mechanisms (e.g. USB, Bluetooth or NFC). Major browser makers like Microsoft, Google, and Mozilla have committed themselves to the standard and will be implementing it in the future.

Functionality

WebAuthn is based on a previous FIDO specification called Universal Authentication Factor (UAF). It didn’t see much uptake at the time, one of the reasons being that it completely ignored mobile browsers. In contrast, WebAuthn will be able to achieve a large-scale market presence thanks to support from the big browser makers. As a result, it will play a significant role in modern web security.

A web service must offer WebAuthn as an authentication mechanism. The user will then be prompted to register their device for this service before they can proceed. To do so, they connect to the service from a compatible browser and start the registration process. The user can then select their locally saved identity and link it with the service. This presumably requires that they authenticate their identity with the conventional username/password method. From then on, they no longer have to rely on classic credentials and can instead sign in with their device.

Advantages

Once the user has jumped through all of the hoops required for registration, they can use a relatively simple and comprehensible mechanism for the purpose of authentication. They no longer have to deal with an endless array of authentication types and custom implementations. For the most part, they should be able to log into their online banking in the same way as they would their webmail or a web forum. Occasional users are especially likely to appreciate the simplification this brings to their day-to-day tasks.

The use of an asymmetric method greatly improves the security of any authentication process. The cryptography attributes of the mechanism prevent the easy theft of credentials for re-use attacks.

Because a new key pair is generated for each service, it is also possible to thwart so-called “birthday attacks”. In other words, the same credentials can no longer be used for authentication on two different services. This means that if there is a data breach on one service, this has no direct impact on the secure authentication on a different service. The rising number of data breaches and increased interest in the issue has made this a real problem.

Criticism

The registration always has to be completed with an alternative channel or method, typically with username/password credentials. An intruder can intercept, manipulate, or interfere with the registration during this phase, due to the classic problem of symmetric encryption: How can the pre-shared secret (key) be exchanged securely in the first place?

In the W3C press release, the Executive Director of the FIDO Alliance made a statement in which he reported that phishing-resistant authentication has finally arrived with WebAuthn. This is technically incorrect, because users can still be manipulated through phishing to carry out full or partial authentication. We have demonstrated this repeatedly in numerous client projects. Involving an additional factor merely complicates the reproducibility of an attack.

Furthermore, there is still a risk of errors during the implementation of the logical sequence. For example, the provider of a service is responsible for detecting and preventing the repeated use of the same successful authentication (replay attack).

Many authentication mechanisms, including multi-factor solutions, support the caching of authentication data. A USB flash drive could, for example, be configured as an additional factor and in such a way that it only requires authentication with a PIN or fingerprint every 30 minutes. This greatly improves convenience, but it can completely compromise security – at least during this timeframe.

What’s more, each new technical addition increases the code complexity of a browser and, in turn, the risk of programming errors as well. Observations of the exploit market clearly show how both the number of critical vulnerabilities in browsers as well as the commercial risk associated with these vulnerabilities is constantly increasing.

Nor should it be forgotten that the WebAuthn architecture harbors risks that may compromise user privacy. The systematic analysis of attestation keys makes it possible to track and log users across different services. The standard includes certain mechanisms for this in order to prevent these kinds of analyses. This requires the product developer to make a certain modification in the implementation. It remains to be seen whether these companies will take a proactive role in protecting the privacy of their customers.

Conclusion

Strict authentication is the proper way to address a number of well-known risks and an ever-growing number of new ones. The fact that these mechanisms are now being offered by popular services as a matter of course and that users are also making use of them is certainly a step in the right direction.

The goal of WebAuthn is to advance this standardization on the web. However, in doing so, a large portion of the logic is shifted to the client end – primarily the web browser. This rise in software complexity will make the target bigger for elements already in the sights of hackers.

WebAuthn can solve problems but create some new ones as well. Hopefully, the pros will outweigh the cons, but it is likely to take one or two years before we find out.

About the Author

Marc Ruef

Marc Ruef has been working in information security since the late 1990s. He is well-known for his many publications and books. The last one called The Art of Penetration Testing is discussing security testing in detail. He is a lecturer at several universities, like ETH, HWZ, HSLU and IKF. (ORCID 0000-0002-1328-6357)

Links

You want to test the awareness of your users?

Let our Red Team conduct a professional social engineering test!

×
Ransomware Detection, Defense, and Analysis

Ransomware Detection, Defense, and Analysis

Marc Ruef

Data Markets

Data Markets

Marc Ruef

Password Leak Analysis

Password Leak Analysis

Marc Ruef

MITRE ATT&CK

MITRE ATT&CK

Marc Ruef

You want more?

Further articles available here

You need support in such a project?

Our experts will get in contact with you!

You want more?

Further articles available here

WebAuthn - Zukunft der Authentisierung im Web

WebAuthn

Zukunft der Authentisierung im Web

Marc Ruef
von Marc Ruef
am 24. April 2018
Lesezeit: 7 Minuten

Keypoints

  • W3C und FIDO Alliance haben eine neue Spezifikation vorgestellt
  • WebAuthn (Web Authentication) standardisiert den Zugriff auf Hardware-Mechanismen zur Umsetzung sicherer Authentisierung im Browser
  • Grosse Browserhersteller wie Microsoft, Google und Mozilla haben ihre Unterstützung kommuniziert und bemühen sich um erste Implementationen
  • Damit der Mechanismus auf Basis asymmetrischer Kryptoverfahren genutzt werden kann, muss zuerst eine Registrierung mittels klassischer Passwort-Authentisierung erfolgen
  • Mit WebAuthn werden einige klassische Sicherheitsprobleme adressiert, die Komplexität im Browser aber zusätzlich erhöht

Das World Wide Web Consortium (W3C) und FIDO Alliance haben eine neue Spezifikation des FIDO Authentication Framework vorgestellt. Durch WebAuthn (Web Authentication) soll eine Standardisierung der sicheren Authentisierung im Web erreicht werden. Durch sie wird definiert, wie Hardware-Mechanismen (z.B. USB, Bluetooth oder NFC) angesteuert werden können. Die grossen Browserhersteller wie Microsoft, Google und Mozilla haben sich dem Standard verpflichtet und werden ihn zukünftig implementieren.

Funktionsweise

WebAuthn basiert auf einer vorangegangenen FIDO-Spezifikation namens Universal Authentication Factor (UAF). Diese wurde damals jedoch nicht gross beachtet, da sie unter anderem die Thematik mobiler Browser gänzlich ausser Acht liess. Durch die Unterstützung der grossen Browserhersteller wird WebAuthn im Gegensatz ein hohes Mass an Marktpräsenz erlangen können und damit zu einem beachtenswerten Element moderner Websicherheit werden.

Ein Webdienst muss WebAuthn als Authentisierungsmechanismus anbieten. Der Benutzer muss dann in einem ersten Schritt sein Gerät auf diesem Dienst registrieren. Dazu steuert er den Dienst mit seinem kompatiblen Browser an und beginnt die Registration. Er kann dann seine lokal gespeicherte Identität auswählen und diese mit dem Dienst verknüpfen. Hierzu muss er voraussichtlich eine klassische Authentisierung mittels Benutzername/Passwort vornehmen. Von da an kann er zukünftig auf die Nutzung der klassischen Credentials verzichten. Stattdessen kann er sich mit seinem Gerät anmelden.

Vorteile

Sind die Hürden einer erfolgreichen Registrierung genommen, kann auf einen relativ simplen und leicht nachvollziehbaren Mechanismus zwecks Authentisierung zurückgegriffen werden. Benutzer müssen sich nicht mit zig unterschiedlichen Authentisierungsformen und individuellen Implementierungen auseinandersetzen. Der Login im Online-Banking dürfte weitestgehend gleich funktionieren, wie bei Webmail oder einem Webforum auch. Gerade Gelegenheitsnutzer dürften sich durch die Simplifizierung im täglichen Umgang überzeugen lassen.

Die Nutzung eines asymmetrischen Verfahrens steigert die Sicherheit des Ablaufs einer Authentisierung massgeblich. Ein einfacher Diebstahl von Credentials zwecks Wiederverwendung (Re-Use-Attack) wird durch die kryptografische Beschaffenheit des Mechanismus verhindert.

Da jeweils für jeden Dienst eine neues Schlüsselpaar definiert wird, lassen sich auch sogenannte Birthday-Attacken verhindern. Es ist nämlich nicht mehr möglich, dass für die Authentisierung zwei unterschiedlicher Dienste die gleichen Credentials eingesetzt werden. Ein Data Breach bei einem Dienst hat somit keine direkten Auswirkungen auf die sichere Authentisierung eines anderen Dienstes. Die zunehmende Anzahl der Datenbreaches bzw. das gesteigerte Interesse an diesen macht dies nämlich zu einem echten Problem.

Kritik

Die Registrierung wird immer über einen alternativen Kanal bzw. einen alternativen Weg stattfinden müssen. Typischerweise wird dies über Benutzername/Passwort geschehen. Ein Angreifer kann während dieser Phase die Registrierung mitlesen, manipulieren oder stören. Hierbei handelt es sich um das klassische Problem symmetrischer Verschlüsselung: Wie kann zu beginn der das Pre-Shared Secret (der Schlüssel) auf sichere Weise ausgetauscht werden?

In der Pressemitteilung von W3C kommt der Executive Director der FIDO Alliance zu Wort und vermeldet, dass mit WebAuthn endlich phishing-resistente Authentisierung eingeführt werden kann (“phishing-resistant FIDO Authentication”). Dies ist fachlich inkorrekt, denn nach wie vor können Benutzer mittels Phishing dazu bewegt werden, eine Authentisierung teilweise oder vollumfänglich durchzuführen. Dies haben wir im Rahmen vieler Kundenprojekte immer wieder bewiesen. Das Heranziehen eines weiteren Faktors erschwert lediglich die Reproduzierbarkeit eines Angriffs.

Nach wie vor existiert auch das Risiko von Fehlern bei der Umsetzung im logischen Ablauf. Zum Beispiel ist der Anbieter eines Dienstes verantwortlich, das wiederholte Benutzen der gleichen erfolgreichen Authentiserung (Replay-Attack) zu erkennen und zu verhindern.

Viele Authentisierungsmechanismen, dazu gehören auch Merhfaktor-Lösungen, erlauben das Caching von Authentisierungsdaten. So könnte ein USB-Stick als zusätzlicher Faktor so konfiguriert werden, dass eine Authentisierung mittels PIN oder Fingerabdruck nur alle 30 Minuten stattfinden muss. Ein wichtiges Element der Erhöhung des Komforts, die die gesamte Sicherheit aber – mindestens in diesem Zeitfenster – wieder zunichtemachen kann.

Hinzu kommt, dass mit jeder technischen Erweiterung die Codekomplexität eines Browsers erhöht wird. Damit steigt auch das Risiko von Programmierfehlern. Beobachtungen des Exploit-Handels zeigen klar auf, dass sowohl die Anzahl kritischer Schwachstellen in Browsern als auch das kommerzielle Risiko an diesen Schwachstellen stetig zunimmt.

Nicht zu vergessen ist, dass die Architektur von WebAuthn Risiken für die Privatsphäre eines Nutzers mit sich bringt. Durch die systematische Auswertung von Attestation Keys können Benutzer über verschiedene Dienste hinweg verfolgt und protokolliert werden. Der Standard sieht hier gewisse Massnahmen vor, um eine solche Auswertung zu erschweren. Dies erfordert eine entsprechende Anpassung bei der Implementierung durch die jeweiligen Produktehersteller. Es bleibt abzuwarten, ob diese sich aktiv für die Privatsphäre ihrer Kunden einsetzen werden.

Fazit

Strenge Authentisierung ist der richtige Weg, um mit einer Vielzahl altbekannter und stetig aktueller Gefahren umgehen zu können. Dass solche Mechanismen mittlerweile selbstverständlich in populären Diensten angeboten und durch die Anwender auch genutzt werden, ist ein klar positiver Trend.

Mit WebAuthn versucht man diese Standardisierung im Web voranzutreiben. Dabei lagert man aber einen Grossteil der Logik beim Client – vorzugsweise im Webbrowser – aus. Diese Zunahme der Software-Komplexität wird zur Erhöhung der Angriffsfläche eines Elements beitragen, das schon jetzt im Fokus von Angreifern ist.

WebAuthn wird Probleme lösen können, aber ebenso einige neue einführen. Es bleibt zu hoffen, dass die Vorteile überwiegen können. Ob dies der Fall sein wird, werden wir wohl erst in 1-2 Jahren sehen.

Über den Autor

Marc Ruef

Marc Ruef ist seit Ende der 1990er Jahre im Cybersecurity-Bereich aktiv. Er hat vor allem im deutschsprachigen Raum aufgrund der Vielzahl durch ihn veröffentlichten Fachpublikationen und Bücher – dazu gehört besonders Die Kunst des Penetration Testing – Bekanntheit erlangt. Er ist Dozent an verschiedenen Hochschulen, darunter ETH, HWZ, HSLU und IKF. (ORCID 0000-0002-1328-6357)

Links

Sie wollen die Awareness Ihrer Benutzer prüfen?

Lassen Sie durch uns einen Social Engineering Test durchführen!

×
Cyber Threat Intelligence

Cyber Threat Intelligence

Marc Ruef

3D Printing

3D Printing

Marc Ruef

Contact Tracing App DP3T

Contact Tracing App DP3T

Marc Ruef

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv

Sie brauchen Unterstützung bei einem solchen Projekt?

Unsere Spezialisten kontaktieren Sie gern!

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv