scip Cybersecurity Forecast – Predictions for 2017

scip Cybersecurity Forecast

Predictions for 2017

Marc Ruef
by Marc Ruef
time to read: 3 minutes

As we do every year, we will again publish an IT security forecast at the end of 2016 for the coming year. Here are the topics we expect to become most relevant or which will continue to evolve:

Windows 10 and Privacy

The latest generation of Windows offers attractive basic features. However, companies in particular with high security requirements do not want to accept the privacy compromises associated with services such as OneDrive or Cortana. Resistance – especially in the Swiss financial sector – will continue to gain momentum. It’s hard to say whether and to what extent Microsoft will relent.

Cyber Blackmail as a Major Risk

Extortion on the internet will become a more common occurrence. Ransomware, which encrypts data and makes it accessible again only after a ransom has been paid, is now widespread and discovered in ever more sophisticated forms. Meanwhile, threats from DDoS attacks will increase and individual companies will fall victim to blackmail. An early assessment of the relevant scenarios will ensure you’re prepared to deal with them.

Risks of the Internet of Things

Recent events have demonstrated the risks of poorly maintained IoT devices. The number of devices will rise based on demand and a decline in product prices. It is to be expected that wide-scale compromises and DDoS attacks will increase. This will, in turn, fuel the technical and societal discussions about liability.

eHealth on the Rise

The electronic patient file has ushered in a digital revolution in the Swiss healthcare sector. The decentralized, dynamic solution promises greater flexibility and convenience. The digitalization of sensitive data, however, is also accompanied by the risk of abuse and theft. Hospitals, doctors and health insurance companies are compelled to deal with the new possibilities and risks, which is likely to result in a huge boost in cybersecurity in these areas.

Drones for Commercial Use

So far, drones have been used only to a limited extent in a commercial context. But this trend is becoming increasingly apparent, particularly in a society driven by economics. It is likely that it will be implemented in traditional areas, such as parcel delivery and tracking. The social impact is unpredictable for many.

Breakthrough of Virtual Reality

Various vendors are pushing their way into the market with VR devices. These devices are now able to impress with their technical prowess. The affordability of these products will result in a sharp increase in sales. The earliest adopters will be in the area of video games. Commercial use is still underestimated, but is also likely to see strong growth.

Blockchain beyond Bitcoin

Until now, the blockchain has been associated with the crypto-currency Bitcoin. Now the decentralized solution is also attracting interest in other areas and will revolutionize many things in the coming years, including authentication of artwork, documentation of watch sales and management of real estate.

About the Author

Marc Ruef

Marc Ruef has been working in information security since the late 1990s. He is well-known for his many publications and books. The last one called The Art of Penetration Testing is discussing security testing in detail. He is a lecturer at several universities, like ETH, HWZ, HSLU and IKF. (ORCID 0000-0002-1328-6357)

You want to evaluate or develop an AI?

Our experts will get in contact with you!

×
Ransomware Detection, Defense, and Analysis

Ransomware Detection, Defense, and Analysis

Marc Ruef

Data Markets

Data Markets

Marc Ruef

Password Leak Analysis

Password Leak Analysis

Marc Ruef

MITRE ATT&CK

MITRE ATT&CK

Marc Ruef

You want more?

Further articles available here

You need support in such a project?

Our experts will get in contact with you!

You want more?

Further articles available here

scip Cybersecurity Forecast - Voraussagen für 2017

scip Cybersecurity Forecast

Voraussagen für 2017

Marc Ruef
von Marc Ruef
am 22. Dezember 2016
Lesezeit: 3 Minuten

Wie jedes Jahr möchten wir auch zum Ende des Jahres 2016 einen IT Security Forecast für das kommende Jahr 2017 machen. Nachfolgend eben jene Themen, die sich unseres Erachtens manifestieren oder gar noch weiterentwickeln werden:

Windows 10 und Privatsphäre

Die jüngste Windows-Generation ist in ihren Grundzügen attraktiv. Doch gerade Unternehmen mit hohen Anforderungen an Cybersecurity wollen die Einschnitte in Bezug auf die Privatpshäre durch Dienste wie OneDrive oder Cortana nicht akzeptieren. Der Widerstand – allen voran der Schweizer Finanzbranche – wird sich zunehmend aufbauen. Ob und inwiefern Microsoft einlenken wird, ist schwierig zu sagen.

Cyberblackmail als Hauptgefahr

Erpressung im Internet wird zunehmen. Ransomware, die Daten verschlüsselt und erst nach einer Lösegeldzahlung wieder freigibt, ist mittlerweile breitflächig und in immer besseren Formen anzutreffen. Gleichzeitig werden Drohungen für DDoS-Attacken zunehmen und einzelne Firmen auf die Erpressung eingehen lassen. Ein vorzeitiges Auseinandersetzen mit den entsprechenden Szenarien hilft, auf diese vorbereitet zu sein.

Gefahren durch Internet of Things

Die jüngsten Ereignisse haben gezeigt, welche Gefahr von schlecht gewarteten IoT-Geräten ausgeht. Die Anzahl derer wird aufgrund der Bedürfnislage und dem Preiszerfall der Produkte zunehmen. Es ist damit zu rechnen, dass breitflächige Kompromittierungen und DDoS-Attacken zunehmen werden. Dies wird die technische und gesellschaftliche Diskussion der Haftbarkeit befeuern.

eHealth im Aufschwung

Das elektronische Patientendossier hat eine digitale Revolution im Schweizer Gesundheitsbereich eingeläutet. Die dezentrale und dynamische Lösung soll ein Mehr an Flexibilität und Komfort versprechen. Mit jeder Digitalisierung von sensitiven Daten geht jedoch auch die Gefahr von Missbrauch und Diebstahl einher. Krankenhäuser, Ärzte und Krankenkassen müssen sich zwangsweise mit den neuen Möglichkeiten und Gefahren auseinandersetzen, wodurch ein enormer Schub in Bezug auf Cybersecurity in diesen Bereichen erwartet werden kann.

Drohnen im kommerziellen Einsatz

Bisher wurden Drohnen nur verhalten in einem kommerziellen Kontext eingesetzt. Dieser wird aber immer offensichtlicher, vor allem in einer durch Wirtschaftlichkeit getriebenen Gesellschaft. Es ist anzunehmen, dass traditionelle Möglichkeiten wie Paketzustellung und Überwachung zunehmend umgesetzt werden wird. Der gesellschaftliche Einfluss ist für viele noch nicht abzusehen.

Durchbruch von Virtual Reality

Verschiedene Anbieter drängen mit VR-Geräten auf den Markt. Diese können mittlerweile mit ihren technischen Möglichkeiten überzeugen. Die Erschwinglichkeit dieser Produkte führt dazu, dass die Absatzzahlen stark zunehmen werden. In erster Linie im Bereich der Videospiele werden sich die Early Adaptor finden. Der kommerzielle Einsatz wird zur Zeit noch unterschätzt, dürfte aber ebenfalls starken Zuwachs erhalten.

Blockchain ausserhalb von Bitcoin

Die Blockchain wurde bis anhin immer mit der Kryptowährung Bitcoin in Verbindung gebracht. Die dezentralisierte Lösung ist aber auch in anderen Bereichen interessant und wird in den nächsten Jahren viele revolutionieren. Dazu gehören zum Beispiel Beglaubigungen von Kunstwerken, Dokumentation von Uhrenverkäufen oder die Verwaltung von Grundstücken.

Über den Autor

Marc Ruef

Marc Ruef ist seit Ende der 1990er Jahre im Cybersecurity-Bereich aktiv. Er hat vor allem im deutschsprachigen Raum aufgrund der Vielzahl durch ihn veröffentlichten Fachpublikationen und Bücher – dazu gehört besonders Die Kunst des Penetration Testing – Bekanntheit erlangt. Er ist Dozent an verschiedenen Hochschulen, darunter ETH, HWZ, HSLU und IKF. (ORCID 0000-0002-1328-6357)

Sie wollen eine KI evaluieren oder entwickeln?

Unsere Spezialisten kontaktieren Sie gern!

×
Cyber Threat Intelligence

Cyber Threat Intelligence

Marc Ruef

3D Printing

3D Printing

Marc Ruef

Contact Tracing App DP3T

Contact Tracing App DP3T

Marc Ruef

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv

Sie brauchen Unterstützung bei einem solchen Projekt?

Unsere Spezialisten kontaktieren Sie gern!

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv