Smart Buildings and Smart Homes – Securing the Buildings of the future

Smart Buildings and Smart Homes

Securing the Buildings of the future

Marc Ruef
by Marc Ruef
on January 10, 2019
time to read: 8 minutes

Keypoints

This is how cybercriminals break into your home

  • Among the grand visions promised by the IoT are smart buildings and smart homes
  • Electronic sensors are designed so automatisms can behave proactively and reactively
  • This can include adaptive adjustments to the ventilation system or shades
  • When designing and implementing smart buildings, cybersecurity must be considered from the outset
  • In the future, building IT engineers will offer an important professional service when it comes to safeguarding homes against virtual and physical attack

The Internet of Things (IoT), along with all its pros and cons, has been a topic of discussion for years now. These discussions have focused on specific devices and device types. But what often gets ignored is that smart buildings and smart homes have already been around for a long time in the form of electronically controlled and networked buildings. This article discusses the effect future developments will have on the way we live and the impact they will have on digital security.

What are Smart Buildings?

Smart buildings or smart homes are buildings equipped with electronic sensors and networking functions to offer a maximum level of comfort and efficiency. The data collected by the sensors is used to react to dynamic situations. When the weather changes, the heating can be adjusted (heating curve), or lights and ventilation can be turned on when someone enters a room.

This dynamism requires that the sensors deliver accurate data and are able to transmit and process this data freely so that the proper action can be performed.

A hacker can exploit these dynamics, for example, by profiling the inhabitants and their habits for the purpose of planning a break-in. Compromised devices can make this sort of spying easier. Criminals can also use manipulation for purposes of extortion, threatening occupants with damage in order to get what they want.

A ransomware-infected heating system

Building with a Focus on Cybersecurity

Because smart buildings have led to more complex networking requirements, it is becoming increasingly important to consider cybersecurity aspects during planning, construction and management. In the future, this will be a major aspect of the still relatively new field of building informatics (GIN).

The association Bauen digital Schweiz has formed a focus group to study this very topic. The Netzwerk Digital network convenes regularly to coordinate projects among its various members. Members include SIA (regulatory), CRB (standardization) and KBOB/IPB (public and private building developers).

Bauen digital Schweiz is also a member of buildingSMART International, an international organization that deals with new and ongoing developments in the field of smart buildings.

Cybersecurity for building IT Engineers

Building informatics is a highly multifaceted profession. On the one hand, it includes traditional aspects, such as energy utility installation. This includes modern technologies like solar power, smart meters and heating, ventilation systems, air conditioning, blinds, etc. Even here security is not a foreign concept, as access and gate control systems, alarm systems, video surveillance, etc. are just as important.

Obviously, intruders can make a lot of headway by manipulating these elements. So it is essential to protect the individual components and their integration into the network:

It is important to remember cybersecurity starts with the design of the building. As with conventional computer and network security, it is considerably more difficult to retrofit security than simply doing it right to begin with. Performing upgrades after the fact always involves additional technical construction and costs.

Elements of a smart building

Devices and their Risks

A variety of device classes are used in smart buildings, and each is associated with its own unique risks. These include:

Many providers of these solutions rely on cloud-based mechanisms to provide convenient, user-friendly interfaces for controlling them. This cloud connection is a key part of the solution, and safeguarding it (or at least performing a risk assessment) is essential.

Conclusion

IoT is not a brand-new topic. But in some areas awareness of IoT is only just beginning. In the field of medical technology it has become clear that cybersecurity is now a central issue. This awareness must now be extended to smart buildings. Networked buildings and devices can be exploited and, at worst, cause real damage.

Yet with all of these new possibilities, the question still remains:

Is a given function really necessary?

The risk associated with manipulation of a heating system may outweigh the advantage of being able to control it over the Internet. If so, this sort of integration might be best avoided.

About the Author

Marc Ruef

Marc Ruef has been working in information security since the late 1990s. He is well-known for his many publications and books. The last one called The Art of Penetration Testing is discussing security testing in detail. He is a lecturer at several universities, like ETH, HWZ, HSLU and IKF. (ORCID 0000-0002-1328-6357)

Links

You want to test the security of your firewall?

Our experts will get in contact with you!

×
Password Leak Analysis

Password Leak Analysis

Marc Ruef

MITRE ATT&CK

MITRE ATT&CK

Marc Ruef

scip Cybersecurity Forecast

scip Cybersecurity Forecast

Marc Ruef

You want more?

Further articles available here

You need support in such a project?

Our experts will get in contact with you!

You want more?

Further articles available here

Smart Buildings und Smart Homes - Sicherheit der Gebäude der Zukunft

Smart Buildings und Smart Homes

Sicherheit der Gebäude der Zukunft

Marc Ruef
von Marc Ruef
am 10. Januar 2019
Lesezeit: 9 Minuten

Keypoints

So brechen Cyberkriminelle in Häuser ein

  • Eine der grossen Visionen von IoT sind Smart Buildings und Smart Homes
  • Durch elektronische Sensoren sollen proaktiv oder reaktiv entsprechende Automatismen angestossen werden
  • Dabei kann es sich um adaptive Anpassungen von Lüftungs- oder Beschattungssystemen handeln
  • Bei der Ausarbeitung und Umsetzung entsprechender Smart Buildings muss das Thema Cybersecurity von Beginn weg berücksichtigt werden
  • Gebäudeinformatiker sind zukünftig ein wichtiger Berufsstand, um das Zuhause gegenüber virtuellen und physischen Angriffen sicher machen zu können

Das Internet of Things (IoT) wird seit Jahren diskutiert, mit all seinen Vor- und Nachteilen. Die Diskussionen fokussieren sich auf einzelne Geräte und Gerätetypen. Dabei wird gerne ausser Acht gelassen, dass wir schon längst bei den Smart Buildings und Smart Homes angekommen sind: Elektronisch gesteuerte und vernetzte Gebäude. Dieser Artikel bespricht, welchen Einfluss zukünftige Entwicklungen auf unser Wohnen und in diesem Zusammenhang die digitale Sicherheit haben wird.

Was sind Smart Buildings?

Bei Smart Buildings oder Smart Homes handelt es sich um ein Gebäude, das elektronische Sensoren und Vernetzung nutzt, um maximalen Komfort und Effizienz gewährleisten zu können. Die durch die Sensoren anfallenden Daten sollen herangezogen werden, um auf dynamische Gegebenheiten reagieren zu können. Bei einem Wetterwechsel lässt sich die Heizung (Heizkurve) anpassen, beim Betreten eines Raums das Licht einschalten und die Lüftung aktivieren.

Damit diese Dynamik gewährleistet werden kann, müssen die Sensoren korrekte Daten liefern, diese ungehindert weitergereicht und verarbeitet werden, damit schlussendlich die richtige Aktion ausgelöst werden kann.

Ein Angreifer kann diese Dynamik zu seinem Vorteil nutzen, indem er zum Beispiel ein Profil der Bewohner und deren Gewohnheiten anlegt. Dadurch könnten Einbrüche vorbereitet werden. Das Kompromittieren von Geräten kann diese Überwachung vorantreiben. Oder es werden Manipulationen vorgenommen, um im Rahmen einer Erpressung Schaden anzudrohen und diesen schlussendlich auch durchzusetzen.

Eine mit Ransomware infizierte Heizungsanlage

Bauen mit Fokus Cybersecurity

Aufgrund der zunehmenden Vernetzung der Smart Buildings ist es bei Planung, Bau und Bewirtschaftung zunehmend wichtig, die Aspekte der Cybersicherheit zu berücksichtigen. Dies wird zukünftig ein zentraler Aspekt der noch relativ jungen Berufsgattung Gebäudeinformatik (GIN) sein.

Durch die Vereinigung Bauen digital Schweiz wurde eine Interessensgruppe gebildet, die sich genau mit diesem Thema auseinandersetzt. Durch das sogenannte Netzwerk Digital werden in regelmässigen Sitzungen die Projekte der verschiedenen Mitglieder aufeinander abgestimmt. Daran nehmen unter anderem SIA (Regulierung), CRB (Standardisierung) und KBOB/IPB (öffentliche und private professionelle Bauherren) teil.

Bauen digital Schweiz ist ebenso Mitglied bei buildingSMART International, einer weltweiten Organisation, die sich mit der Entwicklung und Weiterentwicklung von Standards im Bereich des digitalen Bauens auseinandersetzt.

Cybersecurity für Gebäudeinformatiker

Der Beruf des Gebäudeinformatiker ist sehr facettenreich. Einerseits gehören dazu klassische Aspekte wie die Energieversorgung. Darunter finden sich moderne Mechanismen wie Solar-Energie, Smartmeter und Heizung, Lüftungssysteme, Klimaanlagen und Beschattung. Sicherheit ist hierbei kein Fremdwort, denn genauso wichtig sind zum Beispiel Zutrittskontrolle, Torsteuerung, Alarmanlagen und Videoüberwachung.

Dass ein Angreifer grosse Vorteile durch die Manipulation dieser Elemente erlangen kann, ist klar. Aus diesem Grund ist es wichtig, dass die einzelnen Komponenten und ihre Vernetzung geschützt werden muss:

Es ist wichtig, dass Cybersecurity schon bei der Planung eines Gebäudes berücksichtigt wird. Wie auch bei klassischer Computer- und Netzwerksicherheit ist es bedeutend schwieriger, Sicherheit nachzurüsten, weder wenn diese von vornherein eingebracht worden wäre. Ein nachträgliches Aufrüsten ist immer mit zusätzlichen bautechnischen und finanziellen Aufwänden verbunden.

Elemente eines Smart Buildings

Geräte und ihre Risiken

In Smart Buildings gibt es eine Vielzahl verschiedener Geräteklassen, die mit ihren eigenen Risiken daherkommen. Dazu gehören:

Viele Anbieter entsprechender Lösungen setzen auf Cloud-Mechanismen, um eine komfortable und übersichtliche Steuerung gewährleisten zu können. Diese Cloud-Anbindung ist wichtiger Bestandteil der Lösung und eine Absicherung (oder mindestens Risikobeurteilung) ist essentiell.

Fazit

Das Thema IoT ist nicht neu. Aber es wird in unterschiedlichen Bereichen als neu wahrgenommen. In der Medizinaltechnik ist man sich mittlerweile bewusst, dass Cybersecurity ein zentrales Thema geworden ist. Bei Smart Buildings muss man sich dessen ebenfalls bewusst werden. Vernetzte Gebäude und Geräte können missbraucht und im schlimmsten Fall konkrete Schäden verursacht werden.

Bei all den modernen Möglichkeiten sollte man sich dennoch immer wieder fragen:

Braucht es diese Funktionalität wirklich?

Das Risiko der Manipulation der Heizungsanlage ist unter Umständen im Verhältnis zum Nutzen eines Zugriffs über das Internet zu hoch, so dass doch eventuell besser von einer Anbindung abgesehen wird.

Über den Autor

Marc Ruef

Marc Ruef ist seit Ende der 1990er Jahre im Cybersecurity-Bereich aktiv. Er hat vor allem im deutschsprachigen Raum aufgrund der Vielzahl durch ihn veröffentlichten Fachpublikationen und Bücher – dazu gehört besonders Die Kunst des Penetration Testing – Bekanntheit erlangt. Er ist Dozent an verschiedenen Hochschulen, darunter ETH, HWZ, HSLU und IKF. (ORCID 0000-0002-1328-6357)

Links

Sie wollen die Sicherheit Ihrer Firewall prüfen?

Unsere Spezialisten kontaktieren Sie gern!

×
Cyber Threat Intelligence

Cyber Threat Intelligence

Marc Ruef

3D Printing

3D Printing

Marc Ruef

Contact Tracing App DP3T

Contact Tracing App DP3T

Marc Ruef

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv

Sie brauchen Unterstützung bei einem solchen Projekt?

Unsere Spezialisten kontaktieren Sie gern!

Sie wollen mehr?

Weitere Artikel im Archiv